Admiring American Crows: Feet and Tongues

Crows fascinate me. They are intelligent, crafty, beautiful, and fun to watch.
I have a crow friend I call Bo. I spend a lot of time with him and his mate, Lorena. I give them snacks and things to play with. In return they let me take pictures and videos of them and teach me about crow stuff.
This is Bo.
DSC_5669.JPG
He's pretty stoked in this shot because I brought him a ball of ground up bugs that I bought at a pet store. It also has corn and rice and lots of vitamins for birds. He loves it.
I had a lot of fun with this photoshoot. The afternoon sun shone through the trees, giving me a nice studio lighting effect as Bo examined his bug ball.
DSC_5261.JPG
DSC_5446.JPG
Crows have great vision, but they also like to check things out with their super sensitive feet.
DSC_5284.JPG
They also use their feet to hold things while they eat.
DSC_5327.JPG
One thing I really like about being able to take multiple bursts of photos (about 8 frames per second) is seeing subtleties like how Bo tilts his bug ball with his foot as he looks at it.
DSC_5330.JPG

Crow tongues are pretty neat, too.
DSC_5513.JPG
Here's a closeup.
DSC_5513 1.JPG
Crow tongues are angled so they can slip food into a pouch underneath (sublingual pouch). This lets them collect more than they can eat so they can go cache the food for later.
DSC_5247.JPG
I just love Bo's smiling eyes in this picture!
DSC_5239.JPG
You can see the shadow of his tongue in this shot!
DSC_5417.JPG


I will close with this cute picture of a young crow and their long, super pink tongue. Looks like they accidentally picked up some grass along with their snack (a piece of moistened dog kibble). Things can get a little awkward when the babies learn to eat on their own.
DSC_4495.JPG


All photos are mine unless otherwise stated, taken with my Nikon D7500 or iPhone and edited with Adobe Lightroom.
Check out my art in NFT Showroom!
If you like crows, follow me on Peakd @corvidae, on Instagram @se_pdx_crows, and subscribe to my YouTube channel.
Thanks for looking!
DSC_9199.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency