SHARE YOUR BATTLE Weekly Challenge: Goblin Mech

I've been playing this game for a fairly short time and thanks to help from my friend who delegated a bunch of cool cards to me, I've made geometric progress. While I give credit to the quality of cards I have at my disposal, the other half of my progression has been my ability to adapt to the game on the fly, and in hindsight, maybe I should have read the instructions but whatever. That's not why we're here lol.

THEME: GOBLIN MECH

Edition: REWARD
Rarity: COMMON
Element: NEUTRAL
Current Trade Value: $0.01

The Story

Among the cards at my disposal, the Goblin Mech is one of my favourites and is one that I use frequently in battles, especially when Mana cost isn't an issue and Melee attacks take preeminence.

This monster is sturdy when it comes to a physical battles and if your strategy or the rules requires you use Melee cards, then this is the monster for you. The card isn't being printed anymore, so if you want it, you have to go to the market but a cost of only $0,01, I'd buy 100 pieces in a heartbeat.

One of my favourite aspects of this Monster is its armour piercing ability and the fact that despite being built like a tank, it is quite nimble.

The Battle


link to battle

In my recent battle, where I employed the services of the Goblin Mech, I put the card right up front like I usually do and it worked to devastating effect. The card delegated to me is up to level 6 but due to the level of my Summoner(level4), I can't get the full benefit of this badass robot. With that said, you can still see its influence in this battle against my opponent who also featured the Goblin Mech in the front row.

Through this battle, you get to appreciate the importance, quality and how it combines with other monsters.

The opponent.

I must admit that I was overwhelmed by my opponents choice of monsters at first glance, but I grew into the battle and started gaining confidence, but if there had been some juxtapositioning of those cards, I'd have been mincemeat. For example, I think the Kraken should have been in the second position, and that ranged eyed monster with healing ability(Cornelius) should have been at the final position.

My Team Selection

When I pick my team for battle, my prime focus is to do as much damage as possible in the first round and most importantly, I like to hit first. This means that I prioritise speed and power, over durability/health.

I picked a team that went with my ideals and avoided anything fancy. It is actually remarkable that my opponent had 4 legendary cards, while I had only one mixed with a bunch of commons and rares. At the end of the day, it was more about the tactics than the mere quality of monsters.

The Formation

The Goblin Mech

The Goblin Mech stays right up front because he's my heavy hitter although I suffered a bit due to his obvious susceptibility to magic.

Electric Eeels

Like I said earlier, I'm all about getting my hits in and I like every single monster to be active in battle, so that explains why I picked the electric Eel with Reach.

Prismatic Energy

Third on the roster is Prismatic energy and this monster has proven to be one of the most reliable in battles for me. I placed it in the third position because I intended to use its special ability to reflect magic. Prior to getting to the front line, it also didi its fair share of damage to the Kraken who's natural ability is to attract everybody's hits.

Ruler of the Sea( Format to generate Card required)


level 2 Card

Ruler of the seas is my only legendary card in this battle and I added it to the match because it increases the speed of all friendly monsters. I also benefited from my opponent's mistake of placing the Kraken between two cards; because my monster's magic has a blast radius that affects the two cards adjacent to the main target.

Ranged Monsters

The last two are ranged monsters Azmare and water elemental, that I put there to ensure the team had balance and also reduce my dependency on magic, in the event that Lord Arianthus found its way into the match. It was a decision that paid off in the end. These cards turned out to be crucial in giving me this victory.

The lessons learned

  • Having legendary cards doesn't guarantee victory
  • positioning is very important and could be the deciding factor.
  • Keep it simple and try to balance your team.

Summary

I think you will agree that it was an interesting battle to watch and at the end of the day, the Goblin Mech fell to magic but it played an important role in the victory.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency