Wildlife filmmaker from South Africa (Introduction Blog)

Hi folks. My name is Ryan Davy, I am a wildlife filmmaker from South Africa living on a Game Reserve in a small province called Zululand. I basically film anything that moves 😄

cruiser_with_camera_s.jpg

I am currently filming a social media wildlife series called 'Mysterious Creatures' of which the first episode is on the dynamics of elephant behaviour. I travel alone and spend most of my time out in the wilderness searching for elephant herds to capture the mannerisms and intricate emotional structure of elephants. It sounds fun I know and it really is. Of course it has its draw backs in that it can get lonely and sometimes dangerous but that's not necessarily a bad thing. Danger allows me to appreciate living and loneliness allows me to appreciate company, when I am blessed to have some.

sunset.jpg

I have recently had the honour of traveling to Zimbabwe where I was able to capture the absolute beauty of the country and the creatures that live in it. I met some amazing people and captured some phenomenal footage. I had a couple of thrilling adventures and some scary moments too. One being where I was actually struck down by a very aggressive and injured elephant. I can honestly say, I'm lucky to be alive 🙏 I think my guardian angel took a fews days leave after that incident.😇

characteristic_and_personality.jpg

I travelled through most part of Zimbabwe including Hwange National Park, Victoria Falls, Binga, Mana Pools, Matusadona, Gonarezou and lastly Nottingham, where I encountered the amazing experience of a large herd of elephants feasting on Oranges.

nottingham_elephants.jpg

I returned to South Africa 2 months later and headed down to Knysna where I tracked the last surviving Knysna Elephant. She is very rarely seen and is considered a myth in many communities, however I can vouch first hand that she indeed does exist.

img_0836.jpg

As soon as the covid restrictions lift I will be able to travel into Botswana where I am hoping to find the Mega herds of elephants that migrate from Zimbabwe through the migratory channels into Botswana. I will post videos of my journey through South Africa and in neighbouring African countries so that my viewers can benefit from this extraordinary beautiful diverse planet we are all privileged to live in. I look forward to any comments or questions. Feel free to browse through my gallery for more beautiful pictures of my travels and the creatures I am blessed to encounter.

img_3862.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now