The Community Garden, July 2022

IMG_20220701_193841.jpg

Hello, gardening friends! Our little community garden is going along strong so I thought I'd make an update. The above picture is a wider view from above, so you can get a better idea of our setup in the courtyard. It's quite nice!

IMG_20220701_193449.jpg

I have PUMPKIN PLANTS! After starting some indoors and then learning the hard way that they don't like their roots to be disturbed (which I learned when I tried to transplant them), I started again directly sowing seeds in my garden box and they are doing well now. :)

IMG_20220701_193444.jpg

My statues are watching over the patch of scarlet clover. :)

I have a bunch of volunteers in the box aside from what I planted intentionally, and now that they've grown for a month, I can see that most of the volunteers are trees of heaven, even though I went through the soil picking out about ten bajillion seeds at the start of the season. So I have to do some weeding, but I didn't do that today. It's on my to do list now, though. Some of the other volunteers are grasses because someone put a bird feeder right near my box and a boatload of seeds fell in. I also picked out a ton of those, but I know I didn't get all of them.

IMG_20220701_193400.jpg

Over on this side I have turnips and tomatoes (and all those tree of heaven seedlings).

Here's how my plot looked a month ago, versus today (though from the other side, lol)! I love how green everything is now. :) Even the neighbors who don't garden too have complimented me or even *thanked* me for having a garden there, just because it's nice to see whenever you're in the courtyard. I quite agree! :) There's a kitty on the first floor who sometimes explores it, too (Yuan stays up on the second floor when we go for walks. I brought him down once but there were Too Many People and he panicked and tried to pull me home ...to where our door is on the second floor, on the first floor - he didn't head for the stairs to go back up. So we stay up now).

I'm so glad we have a community garden now. How are your gardens doing?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency