EXPERIENCING VIRTUAL REALITY FOR THE FIRST TIME

Virtual reality (VR) is a simulated experience that employs pose tracking and 3D near-eye displays to give the user an immersive feel of a virtual world. Applications of virtual reality include entertainment (particularly video games), education (such as medical or military training) and business (such as virtual meetings).source

On Friday last week, my friend @depressedfuckup and I decided to take part in a virtual reality program organized by HOPin Academy. HOPin Academy is a prime entrepreneurship ecosystem support organization located in the heart of Tamale, Northern Ghana, serving already established and start-up entrepreneurs.

When I got the invitation to participate in this virtual reality experience, I was so excited about the good news. I have been seeing people play VR games on social media and in movies, I could not wait to finally feel how cool it would be.

Indeed this Friday was not a regular Friday evening, lol. The virtual reality device had a series of games and lesson materials for participants to choose from. We got to play some interesting games as well. It was rather unfortunate that the time was very limited. The device was on low battery the very moment the game got interesting.

At first, it was kinda funny trying to hold the device and get control of the game, but as I practiced more and more, I got familiar with the control pads and everything was cool afterwards. Surprisingly, I even managed to hit a new high score but unfortunately, my title reign did not last for a long while as it was smashed by this mf @depressedfuckup. It's not even like he was a pro or something, because I played before him, he had the leverage to learn from my mistakes and that was how he managed to hit a score a little bit higher than mine.

After the VR game, we went around the facility and got some nice shots. The vicinity around HOPin Academy is so aesthetic which makes it a very nice location for taking pictures.

Whilst we were still on our pictures taking quest, the organizers of the program reached out to us to make a short video about our experience. This was very spontaneous, I was a little bit nervous throughout the video, but fortunately it turned out great and they loved it.

It was indeed a fantastic experience at HOPin Academy. The VR game was so cool. Even though it was only for a short while, I had so much fun and learned a great deal about virtual reality.


All pictures in this post were taken by @depressedfuckup

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency