My Jersey Cow "Moo" and Her Big Surprise!



cl6mgrl6v01h71hkfdbtf9weu_mooeating.webp
cl6mgroaa01g61tkfatk2cfut_bull.webp
cl6mgrrjw01fj0pkfcaaacbtt_calf.webp
cl6mgrua401fi29kf2qjnc96t_moolookingout.webp
cl6mgrxhj01g515kf55iv7a38_moolandscape.webp
cl6mgs0k501ha1hkfa09s2oyb_moomoo_chillin.webp

On the Gubba Homestead I recently got a Jersey cow whos name is Moo lol She provides me daily with tons of milk and cream. The cream I use to make butter, cheese and food for the chickens and dogs. Moo came from a dairy farm that was downsizing and when I saw her I feel in love! I knew she would enjoy being on the open fields here on my new homestead. The milk she gives me daily is so stinkin' good!

For the first two months of having her it was a bit of a long and stressful process to get her into the stanchion I built and milk her. Fast forward to today when I call her into the barn she now goes right in! I think she knows she's getting grains, her favorite lol

Moo came with a big surprise, she's pregnant!!! She's due to have her baby in September! That means a few days ago I stopped milking her so her body can get strong and prepared to have her calf.

The neighbors have many cows which she often seems to talk to and connect with as their fences are next to each other. I took a picture of their cows they have looking over at me. They are pretty destructive and have broken out of their fencing into my yard twice now causing all shorts of havoc that you can see in my other posts. They also have a beautiful calf named daisy who you can see in the thirds picture. This has me so excited to keep and take care of the first birth here on the Gubba Homestead! If it's a boy or a girl, I'll be keeping it. A boy raised for meat as it's a mix of jersey and black angus and a girl for double the milk!

Thank you for joining me on this Journey of becoming a self-sufficient homesteader. If you enjoy vlogs I encourage you to watch my vlog channel.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency