How Many Hives Should I Get This Year?



clf75hbig004fbbsz9swc3vay_bees4.webp
clf75hbpq005h5csz1ncgbj2d_bees1.webp
clf75hdzs004k8hsz2x4uczln_bees5.webp
clf75he2200515nszg76zdn6j_bees2.webp
clf75hg1l005v0isz2mb8h1oc_bees3.webp

My stomach dropped reading this. "U.S.D.A Approves First Vaccine For Honeybess" Although it appears to some as a “fix” for declining bee populations, it definitely is not. I don’t like it when the people who create the problems, then “fix” the problems.

Introducing something like this into the bee world is disgusting. What if it went terribly wrong and decimated the population? What if it affected how they pollinate? What if it is all for control?

I wonder if the bees not taking it are being told how selfish they are…🤪 How do you feel about your food’s pollinator being treated like this?

I love beekeeping!

Having bees on the homestead is one of my favorite things. I love spending time caring for the bees, and I am continuously amazed at everything bees do! These ladies work HARD!

Yes, the girls are the hard workers while the male drones really don’t do all that much and are actually kicked out of the hive before winter because they bring nothing to the table 😂

I began beekeeping this year with two Carniolan hives, and I’m excited to continue being a beekeeper next spring. Currently, my hives are winterized, but I just checked on them with a stethoscope and could hear them inside the hive buzzzing away!

I know there’s a few more months of winter left, but I’m just wishing it away so I can spend more time with my bees. I plan to get a few more hives next year and continue building a little bee operation.

This past year my beehives gave me 1 gallon of honey. I only extracted from one hive but both worked so incredibly hard, and I was grateful they shared some of their treasure.

One hive so far seems like it wont be making it through this winter. I'll be building a new bench and getting a number of new hives. I'm thinking three more so I have a total of 4 hives and most likely introduce what few might be a live in the other hive into the new hives.

Who wants to try beekeeping?!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency