A Tree Fell on my House Last Night

Remember that house I’m trying to sell? Yeah…that one. I wasn’t sure what community this best fit in, I hope it will be welcomed here.

Two weeks ago, houses were selling within days of listing. The very same week we listed, was the week all that halted. On the heels of a market where houses say no longer than 3-5 days, our house sat listed for more than 10. We got under contract on our new house and have already spent basically everything we have trying to get that part to come together, and were already worrying what we’d do if this house took too long to sell.

img_0809.jpg

img_0811.jpg

img_0808.gif

Last night, at 11:11, my wife and I awoke to a thunderous crash. The tree hit right over our bedroom.

Luckily the damage wasn’t too bad, but the biggest impact will be on our delayed ability to sell. Lately it seems we are destined to meet with a seemingly insurmountable slew of problems in trying to leave this place behind. I’m a big believer in signs. Perhaps this is what the turtle yesterday was warning us about. The meaning I found for the turtle was: “finding the way to move forward and live through heavy times.”

At the time I thought this was referring to our difficulty in selling overall, but now I wonder if it may have meant that these harder times were coming. I’m not sure of course, but I think our biggest priority in this moment needs to be to remain strong, positive, and faithful as we navigate a course out of this situation.

img_0810.jpg

img_0812.jpg

img_0813.jpg

img_0814.jpg

img_0798.gif

I don’t mean to complain or cry for sympathy, I’m just documenting the experience so I can look back on it after it’s all behind me - which I know someday it will be. This, like all other things, shall pass. But sitting here in the middle of it, right now it’s hard to see how.

img_0815.jpg

img_0816.jpg

img_0817.jpg

img_0805.gif

I’m keeping this fairly short today, I have to call and get people to come out to give me repair and removal quotes so I can work with our homeowners insurance to get it cleaned up as quickly as possible. But since I’d already taken a bunch of photos for the insurance company, I figured I’d take a moment to slow down and share it here on Hive.

img_0818.jpg

img_0819.jpg

img_0802.gif

Wish me luck friends, I have a feeling I’m going to need it :)
Thank you!!! 🙏🙏🙏



Thanks for checking out some more of my work! As always, I hope you enjoyed witnessing as much as I enjoyed creating!

© Photos and words by @albuslucimus, except where otherwise indicated.


img_4821.png


If you enjoy my content, check out the Albus Index!

Here you’ll find links to various post-groupings, so you can find all posts related to a specific topic quickly. Topics include lists of brewing recipes, flutes, crypto talks, rucking posts and an index of all acoustic covers. The lists are updated as new content is added, so they can always be used to quickly navigate my content.



img_0562.png

https://v4v.app/v1/lnurlp/qrcode/albuslucimus

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency