The Science Behind Visualization

elliotm-v9X4-ACaPUs-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Илья Мельниченко on Unsplash

Visualization works by activating the same neural pathways in the brain as actual experiences. For instance, when you visualize an experience, your brain processes it in the same way as it would if you were actually living through that experience. - Corporate Wellness Magazine

I bought this author's planner for drafting 2024 manuscripts drafting and publishing scheduling. It's about 2 inches thick and a bit intimidating.

I decided today was a good day to start the set up process so I'm not fumbling around with it in January. I set up my colorful monthly tabs and my vision for the year.

There were some good leading questions to help me clarify my vision and it mentioned the science behind visualization as to why it was important to spend time filling this section out. And I had to stop and look it up.

I've always heard about the positive effects of visualizing your goals to stay focused and visualizing the reward for motivation. But not about how practicing visualization can affect you physically.

I found studies about how athletes improve their performance by mentally practicing, people have lowered their stress levels, and improved recovery time from injuries. And a few websites reference studies of people increasing muscle strength by imagining their muscles contracting for so many minutes per day.

I immediately thought of the Matrix. All we have to do is plug in, do some mental exercises, and we can do the things!

Some recommend doing this during meditation or journaling and there are apps to help you practice. I'm still digging in to find the studies and how it works, but it was too interesting not to share with you.

Let me know if you find some good resources on the science of visualization and I'll update in the comments too!


Day 18 - National Journal Posting Month

NaJoPoMo Day 18 2023.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now