My Yellow Story

"...I swam across,
I jumped across for you.
Oh, what a thing to do.
'Cause you were all yellow."
-Yellow, Coldplay

IMG_20200501_084229.jpg

When I see yellow, I remember one of my boy friends back in college.
It is his favorite color.
He was way older than me and I was the youngest in class, having joined school a year earlier than the required age for my batch.

So what made that yellow special?

Well, in one of our subjects, we had an activity.
One of the questions is, "If you will be given a yellow flower, who will you give it to?"
The teacher mentioned that it has a hidden meaning.
We were asked to write it in a small piece of paper and give it to whom we would want to give it to.
And yes, my friend gave that small piece of paper to me.
To day, I still have it with me.

IMG_20240224_073539.jpg

This piece of paper is pasted in my scrapbook. The text means, "the yellow is for you."


According to our professor, yellow means that person is special and you care for them.
This is true, for me.
He was like an older brother I didn't have.
He treated me like his younger sister.
He was also the reason why I nearly failed one of my math subjects.
I took the quiz and finished it. I passed it unto him so he could copy as he was struggling with the subject.
Our professor saw it, got my paper and tore it in front of me.
When the results came in, he got a perfect score, I got zero.
That could've instantly gave me a 4.0 grade (failed) but luckily, I scored high in my exams.
Ending? I passed the subject.
That was the last semester I spent in that university. I had to transfer schools as the university did not offer the course I wanted to take.

As for my friends, we parted ways. We grew older. We moved on.
Now, we just know each other as old acquaintances.
Though recently, we reconnected through a group chat together with our other friends.
He is now married with two kids.

Heads up: This is a yellow love story.

Transferring universities was quite a challenge.
No friends and you start to familiarize another culture all over again.
But I believe it was no accident.
'Coz it was there that I met my husband, another version of my yellow story.
He said he likes yellow and purple that made me think of motif and designs for a purple and yellow wedding. yay.

Ours is not a perfect love story.
We had our ups and downs just like every relationship.
But we grew older and more mature together.
I appreciate his willingness to change for the better.

This yellow flower featured in this post is actually from him.
He might not actually remember it, as always but I clearly do.

So what makes this yellow special?

My husband is the type of guy who is not keen on giving flowers.
Well, I'd actually prefer chocolates. 😁
As far as I remember it right, the yellow rose was the second time he gave me flowers. First was when he was courting.
According to him, a rose in a pot is better so even if the flower withers, it will soon bloom again.
After the yellow rose came other pots of roses of other colors.

IMG20201010105241.jpg

This is just one of the other potted roses he gave me.


To my hon, thank you.
The things you do matter.
I hope you feel appreciated.


📌Hi. This is Cate and this is my yellow story. Personally too, I love yellow. It's the stars twinkling in the dark of night. It's the sunlight on my face in the morning. It is a symbol of hope and renewal. Probably the reason why yellow shirt looks good on our son.😉

What's your yellow story?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency