Red in my world

Red is such a great colour and it always around us - from Valentine’s to Christmas. It is in flowers, fruits, ornaments, etc.

My love for travel has taken me to many places. These red doors stood out in Monpazier, France,

also this bridge in a park in the Dordogne.

It was Christmas in London and the store Fortnum and Mason was awashed in red..... and very appropriately a red double-decker just happened to be passing by.

Oh that reminds me, a while ago my kids bought these iconic "telephone booths" on one of our trips to London. They were so fascinated as the concept of a phone booth was new to them. The taller booth in the photo is a "money box" but it was never used as such.

I realise that my red-essay does not need to stray far from home. Look at these beautiful doors on Brouwergracht in the center of the city.

I also like this mosaic "couch" in Amstelpark.

Close to the park is a primary school garden where I made this picture of a garden dahlia.

However, my favorite red flower is still a rose but I do appreciate other red plants,

like this silver vase plant.

This essay would not be complete without a stroll to my lovely garden. These cherry tomatoes were sweet and plentiful.

The strawberries are such a fantastic summer treat.

The cherry tomatoes and strawberries rival each other but both keep me happy.

A handful a day,
keeps the sweet tooth at bay! ©MoMoGrOw

Ok - I just made that up but it is not time for verses but photos.
Not everyone love radishes but I do. Fresh from the garden they are zesty or spicy.

Red bell peppers are mildly sweet and easier on the palate.

..... and this multipurpose (beet)root is another favourite.

Most often I keep fruits in the creatively designed red Alessi fruit bowl

but not after they are sliced and ready for enjoying - like these refreshing pieces of watermelon.


This is my entry to the Red-essay of Ecency's Photo-Essay contest.


The photos are my own. 3 photos were used previously (years ago) in other blogs.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency