Radical Clay exhibition

I do love art museums and the Radical Clay exhibition at the Art Institute in Chicago that featured accomplished work by contemporary women artists from Japan was fascinating!

One of my favorite pieces, by Tsiji Kyo is titled Plate with butterfly design and was created in the early 1990s. It is woodfired stoneware with camellia-ash design.

Tanaka Yu creates clay sculptures that appear to be brightly colored textiles alluding to the centuries old Japanese practice (furoshiki) of wrapping treasured objects in cloth. She creates the illusion of fabric by using sponges and applying up to 6 layers of glaze.
I saw nothing that would have convinced me that this was clay and not fabric!

This piece, titled Dream Flight was created in 2019 by Tanka Tomomi. She used feather thin layers of clay to produce the wave like appearance.

Hattori Makiko's pieces are characterized by the textures she creates with razor thin clay shavings.

Somehow I didn't document the artists name but wanted to include my photo of this incredibly detailed flower

This piece by Yashima Etsuko explores the technique of combining glass with clay.

Working with clay fascinates me and it was delightful to be able to closely observe and photograph these incredible works of art!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
33 Comments
Ecency