How I got Into Blockchain Games: Axie Infinity

Like a blind a cat that has found a dead rat. That is how I consider myself when I have learned about blockchain games and Axie Infinity.

thumbnail 1.png
Image Source

Years ago, I may have read articles about "Bitcoin", "Cryptocurrency" and "Mining". Those topics have been too far out of reach for me to understand as those topics have always been shrouded by jargon and terminologies like a mist restricting my eyesight. The only thing I understood at that time was that, "Miners of Bitcoin make lots of money".

Sadly, I was too unaware and uneducated about “cryptocurrency”.... Who am I kidding, the real reason I did not try to understand it further was because of money. It was too expensive. Mining bitcoin requires money. So I ignored it.

Just recently as I browsed the web, I stumbled upon shocking and even baffling news. They were talking about NFT. “This NFT sold like XXXXX dollars!”. Once again I ignored it due to the sheer stupidity of the idea. Oh boy I was wrong. I’m the actual stupid one.

But one day, I stumbled upon another piece of news. This time the website seems legitimate, aside from the “click-bait” title. A title which has been direct and truthful from the very beginning. This time however, I read it.

“People in the Philippines are earning cryptocurrency during the pandemic by playing a video game - CNBC”

It shocked me. “Play-to-earn?”, I ask myself.

I was stupefied. I searched high and low. “How to play Axie Infinity”. Then reality slapped me once more. It requires money ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°). I was disappointed. So I searched for other games like Axie Infinity. I stumbled upon Ethermon; then found bitcoin bounce; then I found many more. But there is something lacking. Earnings. Real money I can slap my face. Not spare change. It hurts to get hit with that.

Once again, I tried reading how to play Axie Infinity. Lo and behold, the holy grail of peasants like me, Axie Lending Program also called “Scholarship”. So I googled for scholarships. Found one, checked their Facebook account and applied. Then I checked their discord server. It was disappointing. Everyone was just greeting one another. “Good day”. “Good Morning”. “Hello”. Like robots. I tried making conversation but nobody answered.So I left.

After a week of calming down from the excitement, I was back to what I was before. Browsing Reddit, watching Youtube, reading books and being lazy. Until I saw another scholarship program on Youtube. It sparked something in me once again. So I applied once more. I entered their discord and was surprised. “No greeting bots?!”

To be continued~

Part II: How I got into Blockchain Games and Axie Infinity || Part 2: Applying for Scholarship
This Blog Post is also published on my Publish0x Blog.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency