Changes I Wish For In Axie Infinity

thumbnail.png

Changes I Wish For In Axie Infinity

Axie infinity is the leading blockchain game currently. At the same time it uses bleeding-edge technology so the game is also in its “alpha” phase just as the developers have been saying. This means innovation as well as bugs and problems. Unfortunately, I would have believed this reasoning if only the game has just a 3 year old game. Fortunately, I am here just to talk about minor things that I wish was changed in the game. Also, I also understand that the developers have decided to focus on future developments rather than the current game itself. This is both good and bad but what can I do, the developers want to develop what they want. On one hand, it is “good” such that progress is always being made and developers wish for the game to be better than what it is right now. But on the other hand, the developers seem to forget about the needs of the current player base. Let’s be honest, some players think of Axie Infinity as an investment rather than a game. FYI, I will be discussing about SLP and AXS in this article but more on gameplay issues which are mostly in favor of me{Yes, I am selfish XD).

PS: I will no be talking about "critical" in this article. Check out my previous one here: Critical: Good, Bad or Needs Change?

Adventure: Changes I Wish For


Now let me tell you how Adventure has tested my math skills every single day on every daily grind. SO everybody knows that using most skill card will give the Axie a shield. Using a combination will add up more of shield. Furthermore, using a skill card of the same class will give an additional a bit more shield. It is very easy to estimate the amount of shield one can get right? Just add It up then you can estimate it right? Well for monsters, this is ridiculously not what happens.
 

468 shield.png

 
More specifically, I am talking about this “Little Rock”. So this little guy use 2 cards, “Defensive Punch” with 80 shields as well as “Guard” with 100 shields. So let us add that up. 80 plus 100 is equal to 180. But wait! Why am I seeing 468? By now, you should know what kind of change I want for this scenario right? I know the developers wish to combat bots using this method but I wish they have employed other measure rather than this madness.

Adventure Once Again: Visual Errors


Now this one is a more minor issue but I still hope to address this one. For background, I am using an Axie with Bulkwark. Using this skill will allow me to reflect 40% of melee damage the Axie receive. Sometimes this works wonders against high damage melee Axies as well as players. But here is the thing, there is a visual problem in Adventure mode. After the opponent is killed by the reflect damage, the opponent’s health bar disappears but the enemy is still standing up. Don’t worry, the enemy is dead 100%. This does not happen in Arena fortunately but this just shows some issues which have been ignored by the developers. I hope V2 will be more polished.
 

relfect issue visual.gif

Speed Issues


This time, I will be talking about what problems that I think are a bit unfair – turn order. We all know it, higher speed means faster Axie. By now, we should also know that HP and the Axie number also dictate the turn order. This time, what I will be talking about is the speed while cards are in action. Here is the scenario where I think turn order is very unfair.
 

speed issue_gif.gifWer bonus damage

 
As you can see in the brief GIF, the beast attacked me first. I followed it up with two(2) Cerastes horn from my Axie which is capable of dealing an additional damage if it attacks a faster Axie. But if you look at the clip once again, the damage I dealt did not proc the additional damage. But you might say, “Both Axie have the same speed maybe so having damaged you increased your speed”. I know this is possible but at the same time, makes turn order unfair. Cerastes deals bonus damage when attacking a “Faster” Axie. The Beast attacks first so it is considered as the “faster Axie, right?
 

cerastes.png

 
Not convinced, are you? Let me show you another scenario where turn order is unfair. In this clip below, it will show you how inflexible turn order is. My faster Reptile Axie was able to deal slow to my opponent. This would mean that my slower Axie is now faster than my opponent’s Beast Axie. But here is the thing, “Why does the turn order change?”. If the opponent was slowed then that means that the opponent’s Axie is now slower which should directly translate into attacking the turn after my slower Axie attacks. This means that turn order changes only after the next “round”. This makes me annoyed since turn order changes on the next round, why can’t the stat changes happen in the next round? This is a bit unfair so let me put that in the other way around, “Why can’t turn order change based on the speed changes?”.
 

speed issue 2  low_gif.gif
Smaller clip due to file size problems

Extra Notes


Axie Infinity is really a gift that keeps on giving. Just when I felt that I don’t know what more to write about, suddenly it throws a vexing problem for me! I am vexed and happy at the same time! By the way, if you have noticed, I am currently using a new Axie! I will be further introducing this Axie in my next article!

Also, I did not include critical attack issues since I have already discussed it in my previous post. Here is the link.

Now for some IRL stuff, internet in the rural Areas here in the Philippines has also been very vexing and perplexing. Recently, I had to go to my aunt’s wake located in a very rural area which is why I was not able to make new articles recently. Her house is located in a place which is almost like a forest but with roads. Imagine “4-5 floored building high” trees but with roads. The problem with the area is the internet reception. Using LTE internet in that place is very spotty which might be normal due to the trees blocking the signal. 5g internet is available but I am currently using 4g LTE device. The thing that perplexed me was that 5g signal is actually very strong in that area(My cousin was able to use the 5g there.) but the people or the community that lives there are mostly those without the money to spend on expensive 5g devices. I just wished that the telecom company thought about the current situation as well. This has reminded me of Axie Infinity where the developers think more of the long term situation while ignoring the current users.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this article! Until next time~

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency