The Dolomites: Passo di Giau | Monte Ragusela

After visiting the Tre Cime di Laredo in September, I have been searching for another beautiful location in the Dolomites, but because all locations in the Dolomites are beautiful, choosing the right one for me wasn't easy.

The Dolomites: Passo di Giau and Ra Gusela - Johann Piber

Passo di Giau
Dolomites - Italy

So, I've been searching Google and watched countless YouTube videos until then I saw an image of a mountain reflection in a lake on a mountain pass and immediately knew that this would be my next photo trip: Passo Giau (Google Maps: Passo di Giau | Wikipedia: Giau Pass).

So, on October 24, I left home and drove about 4 hours till I reached the Passo di Giau via Cortina d'Ampezzo in South Tyrol, Italy. Some of you might know Cortina because it hosted the Winter Olympics in 1956 and subsequently a number of world winter-sports events (Wikipedia: Cortina d'Ampezzo) - it is a well known summer and winter sport resort.

The Dolomites: Passo di Giau and Ra Gusela - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Looking from Passo di Giau towards Cortina d'Ampezzo in the north-east

There are millions of photos from this mountain pass and the iconic mountain called "Monte Ragusela" (2,595 m / 8,513.78 feet) and especially when you're there for the first time, it's not easy to look for compositions that haven't been taken already by someon before ... maybe next time.

The Dolomites: Passo di Giau and Ra Gusela - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

The Berghotel Passo Giau with the parking lot and my van

The Passo di Giau is at an altitude of 2,236 m / 7,335.96 feet and there's a lot of parking space on top at the Berghotel Passo Giau and besides the road, but in tourist season you have to be lucky or very early to be able to park near the top spot.

The Dolomites: Passo di Giau and Ra Gusela - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

When I arrived at the pass (15 km / 9.32 miles from Cortina) the weather was bad, really bad - no sight because of dense fog and high clouds and it was very stormy and rainy. But the good thing was that almost no people have been up there and so I could choose the best parking place for my van ๐Ÿ˜‰

The Dolomites: Passo di Giau and Ra Gusela - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Monte Ragusela

Of course, the bad weather wasn't bad enough for me and the rain and the wind took a short break every now and then, so I went to search for the top photo spots on Google maps and of course for the lake with the mountain reflection. These places are only 10 to 15 minutes from the parking lot at the pass and easy reachable.

The Dolomites: Passo di Giau and Ra Gusela - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Ragusela Pond Reflection

When I saw the lake I had to smile because it was only a little pond, a muddy pond, but in the right conditions and reflecting a huge mountain it can look like a real big lake - awesome.
Because of the wind and the bad weather there was no good reflection in the water, but by taking a long exposure image there was the Ragusela mountain clearly to see. I love this rock in the water that mimics / reflects the mountain almost perfectly.

The Dolomites: Passo di Giau and Ra Gusela - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

It rained the whole night through, but I slept quite well and when I looked through the window of the tailgate at about 5am, I saw stars and got up immediately ๐Ÿ˜

When I reached the first photo spot it was still too dark to photograph, so I thought of going to the little lake and that was a good idea. There have even been a few clouds in the sky ๐Ÿ˜€ but only for a short while.

The Dolomites: Passo di Giau and Ra Gusela - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

No, I didn't clone out the little rock in the water, just used another angle and the water level was a little higher, probably due to the rain, but I had to clone out quite some mud in the foreground ๐Ÿ˜‰

The Dolomites: Passo di Giau and Ra Gusela - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

The nice glow on the Ragusela mountain didn't last long and when minutes later a few other photographers arrived, I greeted them politely, left the scene smiling and climbed the hill behind the lake to take some more photos of the area.

The Dolomites: Passo di Giau and Ra Gusela - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
The Dolomites: Passo di Giau and Ra Gusela - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

The snowy mountain peak in the image below must be the Piz Boรจ (3,152 m / 10,341.21 feet - Wikipedia: Piz Boรจ) in the south.

The Dolomites: Passo di Giau and Piz Boรจ - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Well, that was it for today, but there will be at least one more post of this place because about one week later I have been there again ... ๐Ÿ˜‰

I hope you like my photos and put the Passo Giau on your list for a visit.


Information

All photos were taken with the Canon EOS R and one of these lenses: Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon RF 70-200mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon RF 100-400mm F5.6-8 IS USM, Canon EF 16-35mm 1:4 L IS USM, Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 L STM, SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM.
If you are interested in the image data, I usually leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog ๐Ÿ˜Š ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog,
wishing you a lovely weekend
Johann Piber @johannpiber

Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission
Please contact me if you would like to get one of my photos in full resolution or visit my NFT galeries โฌ‡๏ธ

>>> Vero/johannpiber <<<>>> Twitter/johannpiber <<<

Some of my Photos are listed at the OpenSea NFT Marketplace and on the Foundation Plattform

>>> See my posts on my Pinmapple Profile Map <<<

Do you know this Badge?

It says "Thank you for partnering with the
Papillon Foundation
by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.
".

+++ You can win HBD Hive Dollars +++

Do you want this Badge?

If you like this badge and if you want to help too,
you can learn more in this blog post of @combination:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

You have no Hive account yet?
Sign up free here! or here or here


2022-12-17
[//]:# (!pinmapple 46.48302 lat 12.05434 long 2022-12-17-Passo-di-Giau d3scr)
#hive5 from Austria ๐Ÿ–๏ธ

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
73 Comments
Ecency