I Want To Share About Friend & Brother in Christ, Donny.

don.png

Donny Grant.

I've only known him for one year. It feels like I've known him my entire life.

It was last year in June that our church was having a Father's Day BBQ after service. My church is small so it's real easy to notice when someone new walks in. Donny and his sister had come in, with a smile and a nod and taken a seat. This happens occasionally. I never thought anything of it.

It wasn't until after service that people started introducing themselves and learned his name and a bit about who he was and where he was from.

That moment stands out to me.

It stands out to me because this past Saturday, we got the news that Donny had passed away.

He was 45 years old.

It stands out to me because it wasn't enough time.

In just one year, that man had more impact on our church than anyone has in a very long time, if ever.

But why?

Donny was just a regular guy. To anyone that didn't know him, perhaps, until you had the privilege to speak with him and to hear his story and understand that this man, quite literally, has been to hell on earth and back, several times.

e2100e64-dcce-4269-b685-bf69a176dc6f.jpeg

Donny was the most authentic human being I've ever met. When you meet someone that's authentic and genuine, you just want to be around them. That was Donny.

He would share his story with anyone that wanted to listen. The good, the bad and the really bad. In talking to Donny, you were guaranteed to hear about two people; his daughter and Jesus.

His daughter gave him the motivation to move on. Jesus Christ gave him everything.

Donny was also a drug addict.

He over came so many times but this time he just couldn't seem to get there.

We tried. He tried. He simply couldn't do it this time.

Donny faced demons that would make the average person crumble. But he never quit. He came to church. He dropped to his knees in repentance and prayer. He loved Jesus with every ounce of his being. He worshipped with his heart on his sleeves. He wept. He shouted for joy. Never shy to give a resounding "Amen!" when the Pastor spoke truth.

Always from the same seat in the front row...this is a photo of him that our photographer captured. It's how I choose to remember him. It's how I picture him to be with Jesus.

347853640_253021047389449_4361579795170611964_n.jpg

I write this through tears. I will admit, this week, I've had some anger towards God. I've asked for forgiveness for that. I don't understand why someone like Donny, who had the ability to change lives with his testimony, had such little time here on earth.

I know the logistics of it. The headline version.

A series of choices in his life lead him to his final moments. That's what people say when the don't know the person behind the addiction.

Donny was so much more than his circumstances. He was so much more than a bad decision. He was a child of God. He proclaimed Jesus as His Lord and Savior. He was made perfect by the precious blood of Jesus Christ. I've witnessed first hand, people who did not believe, hearing Donny's testimony and coming to believe in Jesus because of it.

Donny, you were one of a kind and I will miss you so so much! Until we meet again, reunited with our Lord and Savior, I'll keep trying to share the gospel and plant seeds of faith like you did.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now