Monomad #66 | Ditinho Sapateiro

I made these portraits in 2007, as part of my end-of-course work in Journalism School. With two other friends, I produced a photographic book about the Olimpia Folklore Festival.

Olímpia is a city in the state of São Paulo, known as the national capital of folklore.

I had the opportunity to portray the edition of that year, showing several Brazilian cultural manifestations and some very important characters of the festival.

Benedito, better known as "Ditinho Sapateiro", was one of these characters. We were in his house for an interview, and on this occasion I took the opportunity to make these portraits.

Folclore - quisexsab 249.jpg

Folclore - quisexsab 248.jpg

Ditinho was a personality in the city of Olímpia. Besides developing the shoemaking craft, he also made his own instruments and props to participate in the local Folia de Reis groups.

The Folia de Reis is a traditional folkloric manifestation in some regions of Brazil. It is a Catholic, popular, cultural, and festive tradition that commemorates the adoration of the Magi at the birth of Jesus Christ.

I'm not exactly a religious person, but I confess that I was moved in some moments to witness the dedication of many people I met during this trip. Ditinho was certainly one of them.

Folclore - quisexsab 264 - Copia.jpg

Folclore - quisexsab 266.jpg

Ditinho dedicated his whole life to participating in the folkloric festivities and we were able to honor him by telling a little of his story in our book "Raízes da Cultura do Nosso Povo" (Roots of Our People's Culture).

This is my entry for the #Monomad challenge by @monochromes.

firula.png

Instagram | Twitter | Hic et Nunc | Mintable.app

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency