Grand Old Buildings of Victoria

I think old brick buildings look great in black and white. Today I'd like to show you monochrome treatments of some classic architecture in my city.


DSCF2595.jpg

This is the rear entrance of the British Columbia legislature building. For some reason, I find it more interesting than the front side of the building. The building was designed by the architect Francis M. Rattenbury and completed in 1898.

DSCF7523.jpg

I suppose I may as well show you the front of the building... I feel that perhaps it has been photographed too many times which is why I don't like it much. Nobody ever shows the back door, however. (See photo one.)

DSCF7514.jpg

This is the Empress Hotel, another building designed by Francis Rattenbury who was beaten to death in England in 1935 by his wife's lover. The hotel is said to be haunted by Rattenbury's ghost. This is the first time I've heard of a ghost travelling halfway around the world. I guess he really liked his hotel?

DSCF8196.jpg

Finally, here's a photo of Craigdarroch Castle, another Victoria landmark. The Craigdarroch family were a brutal bunch of 19th-century capitalist "robber barons". There is a dark history to this place which I may explore in future posts. The castle is on the list of the top ten most haunted houses in Canada. We really do love our ghosts in this town!


All photos were taken by me, @keithboone, with a Fuji X-T4 camera ~ for the #Monomad Photography Challenge by @brumest and @monochromes. Thanks very much for visiting!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency