Monomad: The Writer

_2630009.JPG
This is my entry for the #monomad challenge
_2620961.JPG
Today I had the privilege of photographing my friend, Robert Dean.


Robert Dean is a writer and TV personality currently residing in Austin, Texas. I've known Roberta little under a year now, and he's one of the stand up guys around town.
_2630004.JPG
I met Robert on the set of, actually I don't remember where I met Robert. I don't know if it was at a bar or if it was on the set of his reality show that was shot back in the summer of 2020. But it doesn't matter because we are here today. I also had the pleasure of meeting one of Robert's sons who is a cool little dude.
_2620930.JPG
Anyway, in regards to the story behind the photo shoot, I saw Robert had accepted a position with Hussy Magazine. And as I was going through Robert's profile on Instagram, I noticed he didn't have any headshots and so beinga good friend, I reached out to him. A simple "hey, would you want to come to the studio and get some headshots taken of you?" And he immediately replied, Yes. Usually replies can take a couple of hours, even a day plus for someone to respond to me offering a free service to them. Robert got back to me instantly, which is really nice.
_2620953.JPG
So we planned for a quick shoot a couple of days from the intial contact, and we and we were able to get a nice photo session in for this one.
_2620959.JPG
I used a strobe light with a six foot silver reflective umbrella as the key light on camera right and then I added a backlight for Robert. For the backlight I used a speed light with a soft box modifier. I also used a reflector at certain points positioned either underneath or on the side of Robert to help with contrast control.
_2620970.JPG
For those shots that you see with a lot more light on Robert's face, I used the silver side of the reflector. And for the shots with starkly more contrast I used the black side of the reflector. My f-stop was at f5.6 and my ISO 100 with a shutter speed of 1/250. I used three different lenses for this shoot. I use the 28 millimeter and the 40 millimeter Konica Hexanon lenses without the black pro-mist filter. I say without because I almost always use the black pro-mist filter. And I also tried shooting some shots with my Jupiter 85 millimeter lens just for fun and giggles.

NFT Collectibles Available Now
Follow Me on Instagram

Mine Bitcoin (BTC) From Your Web Browser
Earn Free Cryptocurrency Playing Online Games
Mine The UnMineable
Credit Building Loan

All photos & videos are mine, Produced By Me, unless otherwise noted


Tech Specs:
Camera - Panasonic Lumix GH4
Lens - Rokinon 12mm
Lens - Konica Hexanon 40mm
Lens - Konica Hexanon 50mm
Lens - Jupiter 85mm
Lens - Jupiter 135mm
Editing - Adobe Lightroom

image.png

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency