A small island in the mist

Today was a quite cold and misty day. I always like to go outside when the weather conditions are like this.
It always has a special vibe when it's misty which can result in some nice pictures. So I grabbed my coat en jumped on my bicycle.
I already knew where I had to go. There is a small recreational island in the neighborhood which you can only enter by foot or bike.

The pictures are perfect to convert to black and white, so these are my entry for the #monomad challenge

There is a narrow wooden bridge connecting the island with the mainland.
brug.jpg

A part of the island is ment for recreation. It has a small beach, a restaurant and a pier. The other part of the island is reserved for nature. There are no paved walking paths and nature can go it's way. It's also closed during the breeding season since there are a lot of birds there.

I like to go for a walk there since not a lot of people visit this part of the island and therefore it's pretty quiet there. You can only hear the birds.
bomen_groot.jpg

The combination of quietness and mist makes this place even more special; serenity!

boom.jpg

On the opposite side of the island there is an old windmill. This is such a typical Dutch sight.
Although these old windmills only have a historic value they do let it run sometimes. But not today.

molen.jpg

On my way back from my round I walked over the pier. In summer it's full of small boats and people, but logically it was completely deserted today. It did gave me the opportunity to make this last shot which I'm actually quite proud of.

pier.jpg

I hope you liked the small collection of pictures I took during my walk today.
Feel free to share your opninion in the comment section!



image.png


FriendlyMoose

Creating blogs about photography, cycling, gardening, craft beer and more...



image.png

Every week I create a post with an overview of all the photography contests on Hive. You can find the weekly overview post by checking the #photocontests tag.
I also organise a weekly photography contest myself; the POB Photocontest. This weekly contests has a new subject every week and you can win POB tokens and Ecency points.
Check out the posts with the #pobphotocontest tag.



image.png

The Cycling Community is a community where you can share everything you like as long as it has to do with cycling. Share your rides, bike maintenance, news or tips and tricks.
Cycling posts will be upvoted by the community account.

You can support the Cycling Community by delegating some HP:

25 HP
50 HP
100 HP
250 HP
500 HP


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency