Monomad Challenge - My First Black and White Project [ENG/ESP]

1.jpg

Back in 1830, photography was black and white, the reason is that there were many technological limitations, and even when the first color photos appeared about 30 years later, black and white would last 100 years after the first photographic capture, when technological advances allowed popularizing color photography.

I am particularly fond of color photos, but I can't deny that black and white has a unique and captivating charm, that's why even though I like color photos, I always find one that asks me to take it in black and white.

Por allá por el año 1830, la fotografía era a blanco y negro, la razón es que había muchas limitaciones tecnológicas, y aun cuando las primeras fotos a color aparecieron aproximadamente unos 30 años después, el blanco y negro perduraría 100 años más después de la primera captura fotográfica, momento en que los avances tecnológicos permitieron popularizar la fotografía a color.

Yo particularmente soy amante de las fotos a color, pero no puedo negar que el blanco y negro tiene un encanto único y cautivador, es por ello que aunque me gusten las fotos a color, siempre encuentro alguna que me pide hacerla en blanco y negro.

4.jpg

However, lately my vision about photography, colors and grayscale, has changed considerably, I learned photography in a self-taught way, so eventually I enroll in workshops to perfect certain gaps that I feel have been left during my learning process, so a little less than a year ago I started a workshop with a photography teacher named Geczain Tovar, who is an important representative of photography in Venezuela.

My teacher is from the analogical school and a lover of black and white, so without realizing it I was already catching his passion for this type of photography, so for my final project of the workshop, which consisted of putting together a portfolio of 30 photos based on a specific theme, I decided to set myself the goal of doing it completely in black and white, this is something that I personally had never done since I started in this world so for me it was a personal challenge.

Sin embargo, últimamente mi visión acerca de la fotografía, los colores y la escala de grises, ha cambiado considerablemente, yo aprendí fotografía de forma autodidacta, así que eventualmente me inscribo en talleres para perfeccionar ciertos vacíos que siento que han quedado durante mi proceso de aprendizaje, así que hace poco menos de un año comencé un taller con un maestro de fotografía llamado Geczain Tovar, quien es un representante importante de la fotografía en Venezuela.

Mi maestro es de la escuela analógica y amante del blanco y negro, así que sin darme cuenta ya estaba yo contagiándome de su pasión por este tipo de fotografías, así que para mi proyecto final del taller, el cual consistía en armar un portafolios de 30 fotos basadas en una temática específica, decidí ponerme la meta de hacerlo completamente en blanco y negro, esto es algo que personalmente yo nunca había hecho desde que comencé en este mundo así que para mí fue un reto personal.

3.jpg

My portfolio consisted of 30 portraits of people doing what they are passionate about, capturing people doing what makes them happy is one of my favorite things in photography, so that came naturally to me, the challenge here was to make my compositions turning off my mental chip of seeing in color and now thinking in black and white.

The previous times I had taken photos in black and white used to be because at the time of capture, I thought the photo in color and then in post production I realized that it worked better in black and white, so this is the first time that from the camera I'm already thinking in grayscale and these are some photos resulting from this project.

Mi portafolio consistió en realizar 30 retratos de personas haciendo lo que les apasiona, capturar a las personas realizando aquello que les hace felices es de mis cosas favoritas en la fotografía, de manera que eso se me dio natural, el reto aquí fue realizar mis composiciones apagando mi chip mental de ver en color y ahora pensar en blanco y negro.

Las veces anteriores que había hecho fotos en blanco y negro solían ser porque al momento de la captura, pensaba la foto a color y luego en postproducción me percataba de que funcionaba mejor en blanco y negro, así que esta es la primera vez que desde la cámara ya estoy pensando en escala de grises y estás son algunas fotos resultantes de este proyecto.

22.jpg

Basically the characters I portrayed are all artists, because I feel too much affinity for art and I feel that I live by and for art, so seeing other artists inspires me a lot, that's why I decided to make my photos in plays, orchestra concerts, guitarists, the latter inspire me even more since I am also a guitarist.

I firmly believe that a good photo is born in the mind of the photographer and that the camera is only a tool that allows to make that mental image come true, however, there is an additional component and that is the emotion, the photographer must feel an emotion and then transmit it with the help of his camera.

Básicamente los personajes que retraté son todos artistas, pues yo siento demasiada afinidad por el arte y siento que vivo por y para el arte, así que ver a otros artistas me inspira mucho, es por ello que decidí hacer mis fotos en obras de teatro, conciertos de orquesta, guitarristas, estos últimos me inspiran aún más puesto que yo también soy guitarrista.

Yo creo firmemente que una buena foto nace en la mente del fotógrafo y que la cámara es sólo una herramienta que permite hacer realidad esa imagen mental, sin embargo, hay un componente adicional y es la emoción, el fotógrafo debe sentir una emoción y luego transmitirla con la ayuda de su cámara.

20.jpg

Here I can't show all 30 photos otherwise the post would be too long, but I wanted to share with you a little bit about my first black and white project and how I feel that I have gone up a notch by taking on this challenge. I think that's exactly the point of being an artist, it's a bit like doing things with so much passion that we always end up wanting to improve.

The path of the artist is to seek perfection to express our ideas, emotions, sensations, maybe that perfection is an ideal, but surely it allows us to move forward and overcome our own limits.

If you made it this far, thank you very much for reading me!

Acá no puedo mostrar las 30 fotos ya que sino el post se haría muy largo, pero quería compartirles un poco sobre mi primer proyecto en blanco y negro e incluso como siento que he subido un pequeño nivel al ponerme este reto. Creo que ese es justamente el punto de ser artista, es un poco hacer las cosas con tanta pasión que siempre terminamos queriendo mejorar.

El camino del artista es buscar la perfección para expresar nuestras ideas, emociones, sensaciones, quizá esa perfección es un ideal, pero seguramente nos permite avanzar y superar nuestros propios límites.

¡Sí llegaste hasta aquí, muchas gracias por leerme!

18.jpg

All photos are my own.
Camera: Canon T7
Lenses: 50mm F1.8 and 35mm F2.8
Instagram:
@guitar.fran
@la.camara.de.fran

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now