No more colours

wood anemone pl bw 5.jpg


About a month ago, I was showing the little Wood anemone in colour. But as I was picking and editing photos I started to play with them a bit more and I ended up checking how they would look in black and white.
You can guess that I liked what I saw. I picked a few photos that I wanted to keep in colour and the rest I decided to strip mercilessly from all the happy colours. Bye bye green, yellows and blushed pinks.
Hello greys and blacks.


wood anemone pl bw 1.jpg


The trick to a good monochrome photograph is the contrast. The lighter and daker parts, the shadows and lines that show up after removing all the colours. It all gives quite a different feel to the image than when the full range of colours is present.

wood anemone pl bw 8.jpgwood anemone pl bw 3.jpg

wood anemone pl bw 2.jpg


So here we are. A little flower in a big, dark woods.
A few days later, it got warmer, and I purposely changed my running route to pass the place where they grew. They were all gone. The heat killed them, and all the petals fell to the ground. Only green leaves were left, but that's not for long either. They will go fully dormant before summer and wait all hidden like that for the next spring to open again for a very short couple of weeks.

wood anemone pl bw 4.jpg

wood anemone pl bw 6.jpg

wood anemone pl bw 7.jpg


Bonus monochrome song for today:
Tricky – Nothing Matters
year 2013


»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

Mono banner.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
39 Comments
Ecency