Blackberry juice

black aeonium raindrops bw 1.jpg


The day has started with a lovely sun today. But that just to fool everyone around because then heavy rain came and it was glorious! :D
The smell of wet greenery and sound of splashes was so cool that I took a while to stand at the balcony door and admire.
In silence.


black aeonium raindrops bw 2.jpg


Another good thing is that all my plants are getting watered and washed. Some maybe a little bit too much - I found two rotten cacti :/

And then the rain stopped and while some were watching football I was catching some drops that were hanging on the leaves.

The first one here is my dark (almost black) Aeonium. They love the extra rain in winter and spring as this is the time they grow.


black aeonium raindrops bw 3.jpg

black aeonium raindrops bw 4.jpg


This next one is also an Aeonium, but much lighter. It has variegated leaves where the edges are pale yellow and center is green with some darker spots.


aeonium raindrops bw 3.jpg

aeonium rainrops 1.jpg


The drops act almost as magnifying glass showing the texture better.


aeonium rainrops 2.jpg


Not an Aeonium - a Chrysanthemum that is in bloom now. Tiny, dark purple flowers are slowly starting to fade. Out of three colours I had, this is the only one that survives and reblooms every year.


chrysanthemum raindrops bw 1.jpg

chrysanthemum rainrops bw 2.jpg


Lastly a reason why I titled the post "Blackberry juice". I had to leave one shot in colour to show you how beautiful it is.

This is the first black aeonium. I did not change anything here. The leaves are this dark - almost black with very dark cherry/purple shade. In summer, when they get more direct sun they are even darker.
With a certain angle the colour reflects in the drops an they look like filled with glitter - that is the leaf texture.
They do look like juice, or one of my nail polishes :).


black aeonium raindrops.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

Mono banner.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency