The Cult of the Raven

Well, it happened.
DSC_3333.JPG
I joined the Cult of the Raven.
Signed up Thursday morning, crack of dawn, in the frozen foothills of Mt. Hood.
DSC_3251.JPG
I did it without any expectations of being accepted.
The members are very particular.
DSC_3270.JPG
They don't care for outsiders.
DSC_3274.JPG
But every organization needs funding. The Ravens were eager to take my application fee.
Ten pistachios.
Whole-roasted, unshelled, unsalted.
DSC_3276.JPG
My hands shook as I gave them the payment.
It was no secret that I was nervous.
DSC_3291.JPG
The Leaders turned away.
Murmured unintelligible croaks and quorks over my credentials.
DSC_3295.JPG
I held my breath as they discussed my qualifications.
They took forever.
DSC_3294.JPG
I nearly passed out.
DSC_3292 1.JPG
Finally, one of them turned around.
DSC_3280.JPG
She told me I was in. Said it like it was no big deal, then made me sign a contract agreeing to abstain from sex, alcohol, and any kind of a social life outside my already established fraternizations with corvids.
I've been training for this for over a year, I thought solemnly as I initialed and signed my life over to them. I can do this.
DSC_3287.JPG
As I lifted the pen from the tail of my signature it burst into flames.
I dropped it into the snow.
Smoke and steam rose and swirled around me.
A million tiny sparrows exploded out of the trees and took to the skies.
The Ravens chanted.
The sun rose.
The snow sparkled with blues and pinks and passerine purples.
I fell to my knees.
It was done.

I was an official member of the Raven Cult.
DSC_3388.JPG

Yay!

DSC_3269.JPG

Yay!

DSC_3268.JPG
I think I get a special jacket or something next week.


This is my entry for the #monomad challenge, held daily in the Black and White Community.
Give it a try. Drink the monochromic Kool-Aid.


instagram: @se_pdx_crows
Art in NFT Showroom
a percentage of this post's rewards goes back to support the community

All the stuff (pictures, words, etc.) I put in this post and any of my other posts is mine (unless otherwise stated) and can't be used by anyone else unless I say it's ok, but ultimately the Leaders of the Cult of the Raven get final say over everything I create anyway, so there's not much of a chance of you getting to use it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency