I think changing the colour changes the meaning... what do you think?

Today we're in Wellington, New Zealand. We're on a holiday (from our home in Australia) and since my partner loves travelling and exploring as much as I do we've done a lot of steps as we walk and walk and walk around each new city.

This was a shot from the mall on Cuba St. If you happen to be a Hivean who lives in or has visited Wellington, you may know this intersection. Sharing it with you in black and white places the emphasis on where it is light and where it is dark...

This is fascinating given what this street crossing is actually trying to convey. If you look at the colourful version of the photo below you'll see what I mean. Well, at least, if you're in a culture that recognises the rainbow as a symbol for sexual diversity and inclusion.

This is the sign, in black and white, that explains what this street crossing is about and how it came to be there. In case English is not your first language, or you don't know this acroymn, LGBTQI means: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer & Intersex.

Here's the photo in colour. Like this whole colourful street, this sign, I think, looks better in colour.

Let's look at one more photo I took today: We went on a short tour with a local Hivean (more about him in another post soon!) up to the top of Matairangi (Mount Victoria). This was the view from the top... well, in one direction, that is! There was so much to see from up there!!! And it's pretty but...

I like the colourful one better. It somehow looks more dynamic, more alive, more inviting. Although, with the really strong winds we experienced today perhaps the black and white one is a better match for the feeling of this city at the moment.

While I don't plan to make all future posts in the Black and White community about "how colour is better than black and white" somehow I seem to have done that today. And I'm okay with that, because that was my authentic expression today. I'm also curious to see what photos I can take in future that will look waaaaay better in B&W than colour. For that, stay tuned.

{And I'm just re-reading the community rules now. Have I trangressed by including colourful photos here? Please feel free to - gently - tell me off if necessary! I can do my posts differently in future if I've broken the rules this time!}

In the meantime, this post sees me on Day 29 of the 30 days of Hive Blog Posting Month. One more day and I'll be having a break again from daily posting πŸ˜΄πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‰

{All photos were taken by me, on my Google Pixel 2XL. All B&W photos were created using the "Vogue" filter on my phone.}

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency