Wednesday Weirdness

weird_1.jpg

Weekend before last we went to an art fair here in town and ended up talking with one of the artists whose booth really caught our eye. He was a photographer out of Belgium with a name I don't recall but his explanation of his process has stuck with me. He told us that he shot with film, scanned it in, reduced the saturation until he was left with just the blacks and greys and then printed the result. After that he then added the color back in with watercolors. I don't have any photos of his work to show you but the results were rather impressive and interesting.

weird_2.jpg

He was quite certain that you couldn't achieve the same results using purely digital means. I don't know enough about Photoshop to contest that assertion but it got me to pondering what weird, interesting things you could do with the 'shop. Last night I was in one of my 'I don't know what I want to work on but I want to work on something different' moods and decided to experiment, the results of which you see before you.

weird_3.jpg

To get these I opened the photos in Photoshop like normal, tweaked the temperature and levels a bit and then inverted the image. After that I converted the result to black and white and then played with the brightness, contrast, and levels a bit more. Now I just have to figure out what sorts of shots yield the best results with this treatment.

weird_4.jpg

Anyone else have a bit of Photoshop weirdness or digital wizardry they like to use to create different stuff or just to break up the monotony of the usual?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency