Some Forking Thoughts

Yeehaw! Fuck the law! It's shitpost season y'all! With the hard fork knocking out the autovotes it's all manual votes for now, should be interesting to see who's actually out there clicking around.

My last post exceeded my wildest expectations in terms of rewards, so their possible impending lack doesn't worry me overmuch. C'este la vie. In a way it's something of an opportunity. I've had a couple ideas I've been kicking around in my head that are more about rewards that have no connection to upvotes, so what better time to drag them into the light.

It has been my experience that things that I become familiar with, spend a lot of time around begin to seem mundane and uninteresting, at least from a photographic perspective. Did discover in Colorado that with enough edibles it is possible to see anything with new eyes. Still, that's something other than a reliable solution.

At the same time, I find everyone else's 'slice of life' photos endlessly fascinating, a sort of window to the world. After too much coffee I start to wonder, do they see their daily environs the same way I see mine? What if we all documented a little bit of the mundane? Side by side, from all around the hive, we could make a sort of living documentation of the human experience.

Hive already is that, in it's own chaotic and unfocused fashion. But what if we made a more coherent, collective attempt at documenting it? A sort of documentary of the world, of, by, and for hivers.

What form this would take or how we would do it I'm none too sure about. I'm writing this half to flesh out my own thoughts on it and half to solicit input and gauge interest. I have the organizational skills of a coked out squirrel, there's no way in hell I could organize something like this on my own, anybody want to work on a group project?

That brings me to the other thing I wanted to get into, collaboration. I mostly haunt the photography related parts of hive, while there's an abundance of lovely photo contests I've yet to come across anything collaborative in nature. Could just be looking in the wrong places, if so please point me in the right direction.

Any of you photographers out there want to work together on a project(s)? Again, I don't have anything specific in mind, please hit me up if you have an idea for one. As a starting point/example, here's an idea that came to as I was writing:

Pair up interested photographers and give them a series of prompts for which they take a single photos, create diptychs with the results. Alternately, have them give each other prompts for photos.

Hopefully this sparks some ideas, drop me a comment if you have and thoughts or questions.

Hive is fun and all but why not have more fun?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now