(More) Shaker Village Scenes In B&W

the farm 1.jpg

We've got some rather nasty stuff falling from the sky (snow, sleet, who knows what all else) right now so I am staying inside where it is nice and warm and scrolling through stuff from my recent outing to Shaker Village at Pleasant Hill. (@dandays, has it made it down to your neck of the woods yet?) This first photo is of The Farm, the goat seen in my earlier post was penned up just to the right of this photo. The property consists of something like 2,800 acres of farmland, this 'farm' is mostly for demonstration/educational purposes and also helps to supply the restaurant in the Inn there.

shaker village path.jpg

The 'sidewalks' at Shaker Village were actually made of stone. To the left of the fence was once the main road through the area but is now a gravel walking path.

Main Road view.jpg

The road traversed the length of the community and made for some nice long shots. The fences along the sides had lights hanging from them that were lit up at night and were fun to shoot as well.

shaker village lights.jpg

While we're on the topic, I'll post one more photo of a fence. There were miles of these stone fences at Shaker Village and in the general area as we approached the property.

Fence and sky.jpg

Just as soon as I stop procrastinating on it I will put up some of my color shots from Shaker Village for @pinmapple's #haveyoubeenhere but in the meantime here's some more black and white shots with limited explanations.

looking out.jpg

There was a flock of ducks gallivanting about the property but they most definitely were not in a row...

ducks 1.jpg

barn and fence.jpg

The ducks were on the far side of the two stone fences of earlier mention. The barn in the photo is a different one from the barn in the farm photo.

window 1.jpg

For reasons that I don't have a good explanation for, I took a liking to taking photos through the windows of the various buildings of Shaker Village. I have a lot of them so y'all will probably see a post of nothing but window photos at some point. It was fun seeing the differences I got between when I focused on the window panes themselves and when I focused on the scenery outside. Which version do you prefer?

window 1.11.jpg

That's enough Shaker Village for one day, could one of y'all out there send some warm weather my way?

Until next time, free the glutens!!!!!!!!!!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency