Louisville Random Shots

I have lots of photos that I've yet to figure out how to work up a post for, usually I find them interesting but not quite enough to be able to write much about them. Sometimes I will end up doing a 'Randoms From The Road' post and collect several of them together but since these are all from Louisville that title won't quite work. I get bored and go wandering the city with my camera occasionally, most of these came from those adventures.

drawbridge_1.jpg

The drawbridge in the photo above is something of a Louisville landmark, it is part of the 14th Street (Railroad) Bridge running across the Ohio River. Below it is the canal that you take to pass through the McAlpine Locks and Dam, which is what allows river traffic to navigate through the Falls of the Ohio. The elevated highway you see to the left of the drawbridge is I-64, and the arches you can make out through and to the left of the drawbridge are part of the Sherman Minton Bridge which takes I-64 across the Ohio River and into Indiana.

rr_bridge_1_s.jpg

I've posted this photo before but I'm including it for reference, this is the 14th Street Bridge and the drawbridge in the first photo is just out of the frame a bit to the left

i64_view.jpg

There's several spots around town that I want to get shots from but most are highway/interstate/expressway shoulders and not exactly idea places to set up a tripod. The photo above was shot through a fence, it's looking down on I-64 near the stretch that appears in the first photo.

spraypainted_parking_meters.jpg

This photo is proof that not everything is better in black and white, someone had taken orange spray paint to the screens of both. While I still think Cool Hand Luke had the right idea, spray paint works in a pinch. I half expected to find glue in the coin/card slots but whoever did this apparently wasn't interested in that level of mischief.

downtown_wall_1.jpg

These two from downtown last summer don't really need much in the way of explanation.

downtown_wall_2.jpg

This next photo is one that has always amused me, I took it a few years ago while wandering the flooded areas of downtown.

no_swimming.jpg

This next photo was taken only a couple months later. The crowd was a small part of what gathered for the Thunder Over Louisville airshow and the whole area was underwater at the time the previous photo was taken.
crowd_at_thunder.jpg

I've probably abused y'all with enough random photos for one day so I will leave you with one last one and call it a day. This last photo is from last April when we escaped from the lockdown for a hike up to a scenic overlook in Iroquois Park. The structure you see jutting up above the trees on the right about midway up the photo is Churchill Downs, if you look closely at the lower area in the middle of it you can make out the famed twin spires. If the photo looks a bit hazy to you that's because it was quite hazy that day. One of the neat features of being in the Ohio River Valley is that air tends to get trapped here for a while and then we get to marinate in our own exhaust fumes. Although not quite up to Beijing's level of air pollution it can get pretty bad here, especially in the summer.

hazy_skyline.jpg

Until next time, y'all be good or be good at it!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency