Desert Rocks And Desert Rock

desert_rocks_3.jpg

It's Friday, the weekend is near!
Twist one up and burn it down, crack open a beer!

desert_rocks_2.jpg

Don't know about y'all but I like to have a little music with my weekend. Since I'm posting photos of desert rocks I think it's only appropriate that I talk about a bit of music known as desert rock.

desert_rocks_5.jpg

Desert rock comes out of the Palm Desert scene and the term is often used interchangeably with stoner rock. The sound originated in alcohol and drug fueled parties out in the desert, unsurprisingly it's heavy as shit and more than a bit psychedelic. Perfect for welcoming in the weekend or meandering in the desert!

desert_rocks_1.jpg

I don't know if Kyuss started desert rock but they're definitely the act most closely associated with it. Check out their tune Gardenia for a taste of what it sounds like, let me know what you think. If you like what you hear you should check out Queens of the Stone Age, another band featuring a member of Kyuss.

desert_rocks_4.jpg

These desert rocks are all from Arches and Canyonlands National Parks near Moab, Utah. Anybody else have some weekend music they like to listen to?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency