Balloons For Breonna

In a few hours it will be March 13th here, which will make one year since LMPD killed Breonna Taylor.

breonna_s_birthday_5.jpg

On June 5th of last year she would have turned 27, to mark the occasion a celebration/memorial and balloon release was held for Breonna at Jefferson Square Park.

breonna_s_birthday_1.jpg

I have no clue how many thousands were in attendance that day but it was one of (if not the) largest turnouts I witnessed at the square all year.

breonna_s_birthday_2.jpg

mayor_fischer.jpg

Everyone from Louisville's Mayor Fischer (above) to Jesse Jackson (below) were there.

jesse_jackson.jpg

It was hotter than hell, as Kentucky in early June is wont to be, but that didn't deter the crowd. Medics did have to attend to a few people who didn't drink enough water though.

breonna_s_birthday_3.jpg

Breonna's family and other speakers gathered on the steps of Louisville Metro Hall and addressed the crowd for some time and then more balloons than I think I've seen in the rest of my life combined were released.

breonna_s_birthday_4.jpg

The night before we'd went on a 15+ mile march to pay the mayor a visit at home and it had made for a late night (we got to his house a little before midnight), so after the balloon release I was about done for the day.

unhappy_copper.jpg

This last photo is from the night before but I have to include it, this was the first cop to arrive and block what I believe is the mayor's driveway. He didn't seem very pleased, although I'm unsure if this was due to being half surrounded or because I kept hitting him with the flash from my camera. He got an earful from us for a few minutes until the SWAT team showed up and made things more interesting, but that's another story for another post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency