Let's Build a LEGO Porsche 911

It has been a long while since I indulged my inner child with a new LEGO set, so I decided this Speed Champions Porsche 911 Turbo needed to be bought and built. The car is an icon of automotive design, and this set looks like it might do a good job replicating it via interlocking plastic bricks.

20210412_130455.jpg


20210412_130510.jpg

20210412_130554.jpg


The back of the box has glamour shots of the model. All the bits are bagged in three clear pouches, but without any discernible rhyme or reason, since they all need to be opened just to build the driver. There is also a sticker sheet to add extra detail, and the usual full-color instruction manual.

20210412_130920.jpg

We start with the minifigure. It's like my plastic doppelganger! Maybe I should see a doctor about my jaundiced complexion one of these days...

20210412_131158.jpg

I'm not sure what I think of these cylindrical bricks with axle holes. Why not a classic 1x2 brick with a hole? I suppose the designers weighed all the possible options to determine the best fit for everything, and this must have been their conclusion, but I'd like some insight behind the process.

20210412_132115.jpg

The directions are extremely simple. I think the kits from my childhood had fewer steps with more parts per step, and no little guide telling me what parts I needed. We were tough back then, and blundered through as best we could without such mollycoddling! [/geezer rant]

It's nice to see one classic 2x4 brick play a role in this fancy newfangled set though.

20210412_132531.jpg

Here's how they replicated those classic Porsche 911 headlights. Neat!

20210412_133301.jpg

And here's the finished product! I haven't added the stickers yet, because there is a side of me that wants to buy a second model and make a wider two-seater. But the stickers wouldn't interfere with disassembly. There were also a lot of little extra pieces.

After dabbling in a lot of Dollar Tree knockoffs, it was nice to handle the real thing again. LEGO is truly an amazing product. The precision of the parts and innovation in the design are remarkable. And last but not least, this car just begs to be rolled around whilst making Vroom! Vroom noises.

Which I most certainly did not do.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency