Taking the top off

The Ford Mustang is an absolute classic, and the only thing more classic than a muscle car is a convertible so today we are making this...

Main (1 of 1).jpg

which is an alternative design available on rebrickable of the official Lego Mustang set which looks a hell of a lot like this...

Full Front three quarter.jpg

Now you might think that it's a simple as taking of the roof bits, but it's actually a fair amount more complicated than that. Although there are a fair few 'shared parts' you actually have to take it all the way back to the start to rebuild it into the convertible version, so the first step is about an hour of taking the official set apart, now I could just drop it on the ground and short-cut a lot of this, but I do it by hand, piece by piece and categorise by colour - which takes time but makes things a lot easier when rebuilding.

image2 (1).jpeg

I get the feeling they simplified the inner workings of this car a bit in this alt build - which is understandable given amateur design makers don't have the endless time and money professional Lego designers have - plus for a set like this it's all in the aesthetics

image.png

The other thing with alternative designs is that they are often built in weird ways - Official Lego set often build in sections, so you will spend a sector working on the engine and then move onto something else - it's like Lego know that there is a magicial moment when you the individual pieces start resembeling the finished product and realise what you are building, which is, well magical and they are create three of four of those moments a build. Amateur designers tend to create instruction in layers from the bottom up, I realise why they do it, I do it too when I'm designing, it's becuase that's how the CAD programs work, so it's easier to keep track of that way but it does end up with half finished things like this, half a engine, half and interior

image.png

I am impressed that they keep the working steering, as this was one of the exciting things of the original set

image.png

And the know getting quite iconic Lego seat design, these look so sporty and comfortable

image.png

A few changes to the interior, a back seat which is nice, and the tonneau cover on the roof - I've made mine a little wider than the design because I think it looks more realistic

image.png

All up the build was maybe 3 hours or so, it's hard to keep track when you are lost in building and podcast world. and I have to say I think I like the top down version of this mustang better than the original.

The front is pretty much the same but I do love this shark nose and the manly stance

shark nose (1 of 1).jpg

The interior is classic, maybe a little bitsy given it's on show but can't you just imagine yourself in here?

interior (1 of 1).jpg

The rear lights are another absolute classic, meaning this looks great from all angles.

rear lights (1 of 1).jpg

Now I love a racing stripe, and I think it works on the original model, but I think the choice to remove it and go all blue for the convertible is absolutely the right choice, I mean how good does this look?

final (1 of 1).jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency