A Couple of Spaceships from a reborn set

About a month or so ago I told you about the Chinese Temple Fair set in this post

When you do a build as complicated as this one it takes a while, so then once it's finished it really sits there for a while as well, as you admire it, and look at the details and then one day you decide to take it apart and that's what I have done with this set.

And then the next part of the journey begins - you ask yourself, What else can I make with these bits?

And the answer is not always obvious - I played around with the actual temple to see if I can turn it into a gate or arch for a Chinatown (I'm still working on it, turns out it's a harder to modify than build from scratch sometimes)

And then I think about the type of stuff I always build - that's normally vehicles, Formula 1 cars, vans, trucks, but this set has no wheels which is going to make that pretty hard so I'm going to have to go with my other go to idea - Spaceships.

Now I've been making small Lego spaceships since I was a kid so the base of them is pretty easy for me, then it's about colours and the small little piece here and there have give it meaning.

Gobi desert speeder main.jpg

In my youth spaceships were always blue, nowadays they tend to be grey. But this set has red, golds, browns, tan, not traditional space colours.

Gobi desert sub2.jpg

But then again that is the challenge. So first up I I took the tan and dark tan, and brown and reddish brown pieces and started to put them together. The base was pretty simple, all tan. Then it needs some guns, because like Donald Trump I think space needs guns - mine where lollipops in the original set so maybe they aren't too scary. The reddish brown roof tiles from one of the stall become thrusters, and you have a pretty good start.

Gobi desert sub3.jpg

Then the main body of the ship is built with various browns and a hint of gold and then a flight deck which is circular and nice black turret - imagine tiny tiny people up there flying it.

It feels like desert chamo to me, so it's a desert speeder, and since it came from the Chinese Temple set then I guess it's the Gobi Desert Speeder.

Red Speeder4.jpg

Next up something similar but in red, and yellow and gold, I feel like it's a McDonald's delivery vehicle for outerspace or something like that. Again some of the roof tiles from the shadow puppet theatre stall become landing gear, there are a heap of hinges which I think make cool rounded bits for the rear of the plane.

Red Speeder3.jpg

And then I repeat the round turrets, and this time top it all with a black communicator. No guns, becuase when you are bringing the burgers to the people of Starlack 44 you don't need to be aggressive.

Red Speeder1.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency