Car and transporter: The building begins

For the last few months I've had a Lego Technic set sitting in the corner looking at me rather sadly...Or was it me looking at it sadly? I can't really say for certain. I've been saving it to be honest, to build when I was in the mood so I could enjoy it more, that moment came last night.

Faith stayed at her mum's house as her mum had a fairly intensive cancer scan yesterday and Faith wanted to be there in case there were side effects...So I was home alone...And I heard that Lego set whispering my name in the same way donuts do! G-dog....Geeee-dogggg...Yeah, a little creepy, but it had the intended effect...I decided to break it open and start building.

The is the Car Transporter set #42098 and comprises 2493 individual pieces that all come together to make a rather impressive looking set up...It's pretty big too at 87cm long (34 inches) and comes with some pretty cool features.

The trailer car decks and rear ramp raise and lower to load the vehicle and the vehicle can be locked in place once on board. The trucks' cabin tilts forward giving access to the V6 engine which also features moving pistons and the rear trailer is articulated.

The blue vehicle has working steering and a V8 engine, also with working pistons. Above is the box it comes in showing what the set will look like once completed.

Here I've laid out stage one of the build in the little containers I use to separate the little plastic bags of parts. You can see the pretty thick instruction manual in front of shot too.

This image shows the three stages of the build. The vehicle, the truck and the rear trailer is stage three.

Here's the very beginning of the build. Lego Technic introduces engineering to the builder and can be quite technical at times. Here you can see a differential and the beginnings of the drive train. The parts are reasonably small and must be placed correctly; Locate them in the wrong spot and much later in the build you'll find things won't fit. Back-tracking is frustrating, but sometimes part of the process.

Here you can see the front section of the drive-train coming together. That grey assembly to the left with the yellow stick is the cam shaft which drives the pistons up and down as the car moves along.

Here you see a little more progress. To the left you can see the very first part I built, the differential section. In the middle there's some drive shafts and to the left is the engine. You can see the yellow pistons which are driven by that cam shaft I mentioned above. You can also see the front wheel assembly which will eventually connect to the steering system allowing the wheels to turn left and right.

If you refer to the first two images up the top you'll see close up's of the engine and pistons. The browns shafts below them are what the cam shaft pushes upwards to work the firing order. The top image actually shows a piston on each side of the engine raised as part of that firing order.

There's a long way to go on this build, probably a total of twenty hours all up so it'll take me a little while as I won't be able to work on it every day. It has been a bit of fun so far and some of the parts are one's I haven't used before so it's fun to learn some new bits and get it all together.

I'll do some update posts as I go and when it's all complete I'll do a final post showing off the set. I'm looking forward to that but there's a lot of building in between now and then. It's felt good to be building Technic again though and I'm looking forward to completing it.

I hope you'll take a look and see how it's progressing in future posts and feel free to ask any questions or simply make comments down there. 👇

Oh, before I go, make sure you join the Lego Community and use it to post anything Lego related. It would also be cool if you showed some support for the few people who actually post in there and share some pretty cool Lego stories and builds...Supporting your fellow hivers may see some reciprocal action you know.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
41 Comments
Ecency