SURFING: Trapped in Paradise (Roads still closed)

Hello everyone, and especially the SurfHive Community! It's Jasper, the musical-surfer dad from Cape Town in South Africa.

As I mentioned in my last post, I am trapped in a coastal village about 90 minutes East of Cape Town! On Sunday night a huge storm caused a mudslide on the one road out of here, while flooding has damaged a bridge on the other road out of here! So I am basically stuck between this small village and the next one a five minute's drive from here!

You can read more here: @jasperdick/surfing-a-bodyboard-session-during

Today felt like a perfect Spring day. Calm winds and blue skies. It was hard to believe what we have just been through, and that we are still completely trapped by the devastation caused by massive storms and flooding less than 48 hours ago!

After trying my best to get some work done and do meetings by hotspotting off my friend's MTN phone (Vodacom is down in this area as well!), I decided to reward myself with a quick bodyboard session in the evening light at the local beach...


Similar to the weather, conditions in the water feel completely back to normal again!


Only, there's nobody in the water to enjoy it!


These four POV shots are all on different waves - I could catch one consistent right after another towards the safety of a deep channel cut out next to the rocks to make paddling back out again nice and easy! I got my money's worth in about 30 minutes - hahaha!

In all seriousness, I must pick my battles in the water and play it a bit safe. If I got badly hurt, I would probably have to be driven to the river with the dodgy bridge and see if the Municipality/EMTs would let me walk across the damaged bridge to help on the other side?... It's probably still too flooded to swim across?

Still, it's a pretty beautiful place to be trapped!

Until next time!

BYE FOR NOW!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency