SURFING: Summer wind + Winter swell?

Hello everybody and especially the SurfHive community! It's Jasper, the surfing Dad from Cape Town, South Africa! Believe it or not, I managed to find a gap to go surfing this weekend!

We had pumping summer SE winds this weekend, but for some reason it was accompanied by a real swell! This is great, because it meant it was big enough for us to go to a place where the "real groundswell" wraps around a corner and the "wind-swell/chop" stays out, making it a bit cleaner and less ruined by the wind then most of the exposed coastline!


The main peak at this location breaks on sand in a "rippable performance surfing" kind of way, and so it is incredibly popular and crowded by our Cape Town standards...


And so my friends Max, Spike and I paddled out a bit to the west of the main peak where the waves break on round boulders. We had to be a little bit more patient but there were far less other surfers... here comes a set wave for me!


After a carve on the outside to set my position, it ran along at the perfect speed on the inside as it drew up on the rocks...


I paddled over to a longer left breaking on a reef even more to the west for a bit - it's not every day you see a longboarder pulling in!


After our first session, Spike and I still had 10% of our energy left. We packed our surfboards in the car and grabbed our bodyboards instead to tackle the rather mean-looking shorebreak, crunching down as it goes from super deep to super shallow, just to the east of the main peak... just getting out about 20m and duck-diving a few sets drained us of that last bit of energy for sure! Haha!


Spike was landlocked in a small inland town for most of the Covid pandemic, and is a bit out of practice with his surfing. He has only recently acquired his bodyboard and seems to be loving it - he bravely tackled this shorebreak!


I hardly ever bodyboard, and I should actually commit to practicing it more because it does feel very different and allows you to try different spots... here comes a wave for me...


Whoa the wave is getting steep fast!


Still - it's too late now - let's try!


Haha I didn't really even make it to the bottom...!


Well, I guess I did make it to the bottom in a different way than planned! Haha!


Me and the bubbles heading for the light...


And I think that's the last 10% of my energy spent!

So yes, this particular part of Cape Town has many different set-ups all within a stone's throw of each other. I haven't even mentioned the legitimate big wave spot out to sea, or the exposed reefs and big wave point just around the corner to the South, or the long exposed beach with barreling waves around the next corner to the North, and various other nearby spots as well.

It's almost like a mini-peninsula on the Cape Peninsula... okay I'll tell you... it's Kommetjie! If you come to Cape Town, try base your surf trip here!

THE END

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency