Lemon Verbena, Lemon and Calendula Cordial [Sugar Free]

Is there anything better than a ice cold drink on a summer's day?

Someone made me a bottle of lemon cordial from my lemons and it was a lovely gesture, but I simply can't do a lot of sugar. I would rather water than a sugary drink!!

IMG20220205144636.jpg

I do love generous squeezes of lemon in icy water too. But with a huge lemon verbena tree, it was time to get a little more creative! If you'd like to know more about the benefits of lemon verbena, here's a link. From helping with joint pain, digestion, candida and muscle pain, this strong scented lemony herb is worth getting into the diet. I'm a huge believer in adding herbs to our diets in all kinds of ways to nourish, assist and heal.

IMG20220205162752.jpg

All one needs to do is make a strong lemon verbena tea, say two litres of it in a pan, wait til it is lukewarm, add a few tablespoons of honey to taste and a pinch of salt, and squuuueeeze lots of lemons in there. Bottle and pop in the fridge! Dilute to taste - this one diluted about 1:3.

IMG_20220206_065826_154.jpg

Of course, you can add lots of different herbs for various benefits and tastes. Lemon juice gives it the nice cordial kicker, but you could try adding calendula too, or tulsi.

IMG20220205163756.jpg

Before long my fridge was full of various herbal cordial concoctions. My latest is lemon, elderberry, blackcurrant, tulsi and ginger. So good!

With Love,

image.png

Footer Copy (1).png
The Fungi Lovers Community: Home of #FungiFriday

My Post.jpg



The Herbal Hive Community

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency