Ever Heard Of Yellow Limes?

I have seen limes with yellow patches and yellowing limes before, but the limes in my fridge yesterday were just full on yellow, as if they were shape-shifting into tiny lemons.

pexels-nadi-lindsay-2746998.jpg
source

Now, I’m the type of person to think that if veggies are imperfect’ they’ve gone bad. But my Dad has been teaching me to get out of this habit. This time I actually looked up why limes turn yellow and if yellow limes were safe to eat. I was given a nice, big surprise.

Yes, Yellow limes are safe to eat, so go ahead on with your recipe!

It turns out, limes naturally turn yellow out in the wild, and are even supposed to! Limes turn yellow when they are ripe!
pexels-marco-antonio-victorino-2363347.jpg
source

When limes aren’t ripe yet, they’re green. Limes are sold this way at stores because they are firm and last longer.

Yellow limes are softer and it’s easier to squeeze the juice out of them.

Yellow limes are…sweet!?

Another thing about yellow limes is that they have a different flavor than their unripe stage. Once I started reading that yellow limes are actually sweet, I just had to see for myself. I squirted the yellow limes into my water, and took a nice long sip.

My water indeed tasted sweet, but citrus-y as well, kind of faintly like an orange. Unfortunately, I didn’t like the flavor too much, as I’m not a fan of slightly sweetened water, but to all the people who like sweet tea, or want to bake with a sweet citrus fruit, this is good news for you! Not only are limes filled with anti-oxidants and vitaman c, but they also change color!

Don’t throw the lime out for turning ripe! Keep it, use it, and be informed!

PEACE!

divider.jpg

Hey there! I’m Shila Williams, a 16 year-old author. I’ve loved books since I could read, and decided I would write books I wanted to see written for others! Check my children’s book Imagination on Amazon! Imagination by Shila Williams

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency