Scottish Thistle - the prickly symbol of Scotland!

This post is inspired by this week's discussion in
The Herbal Hive community.🌿🌸🌿

I would like to talk with you about one very beautiful, prickly, beauty
Onopordum acanthium L. or Scotch/ Scottish thistle

scthcover.png

Lets start with the name 🤓 Do you know why it is called Scotch ot Scottish Thistle? ...Because it is Scotland's national emblem for centuries.
Here is one of the legends of how it all happen:

Late in the summer of 1263 King Haakon of Norway, now intent on conquering the Scots, set off with a sizeable fleet of longships for the Scottish coast. Gales and fierce storms forced some of the ships onto the beach at Largs in Ayrshire, and a Norwegian force was landed.
Legend has it that at some point during the invasion the Norsemen tried to surprise the sleeping Scottish Clansmen. In order to move more stealthily under the cover of darkness the Norsemen removed their footwear. But as they crept barefoot they came across an area of ground covered in thistles and one of Haakon’s men unfortunately stood on one and shrieked out in pain, thus alerting the Clansmen to the advancing Norsemen.
His shout warned the Scots who rose up and engaged the enemy, thus saving Scotland from invasion. The important role that the thistle had played in the Battle of Largs was recognised and so was chosen as Scotland’s national emblem. The first use of the thistle as a royal symbol of Scotland was on silver coins issued by James III in 1470.
Source

onopordum_horridum_600x700.jpg Source

Well, in #Bulgaria we call it Магарешки бодил/ Magareshki bodil/ if translated Donkey Thistle 😁, not sure why named after donkeys, couldn't find any info on it. Here are the dried buds I have been using this week for my tea 🍵! I just love the colors of this plant, even dried it keeps those beautiful colors:
dsc07178.1.jpg

pix2.jpg

dsc07189_1_.jpg

Why I've been using it this week?
Well, the kids are sick a little bit... you know this time of the year 🤧 so I am adding one flower in the tea pot to boost their immunity. The Onopordum acanthium has an anti-inflammatory, antitumor, and cardiotonic agents so helps to improve the immune system and to recover easily from sickness. This week I've been doing different combos of herbal teas to help my kids feel better.
The one I made today was with elderberry flower (immune boost), few rosehip fruits (vitamin C) and mint from our garden (helps respiratory system). Tastes really good...kid approved...with honey, of course 🍯☺️

dsc07199_1_.jpg

dsc07203_1_.jpg

dsc07206_1_.jpg

Do you remember the scene from Alice in Wonderland movie, where the white queen makes potion for Alice to make her the right size? Well, this is how I feel every time I stand in front of my shelfs with herbs. I am making a magic potion! 😄😄😄 I always make sure my thoughts are clear and positive while I make my tea, the power of our thoughts is already proven so I make sure I put good stuff in there 😄

Have you used Scottish thistle somehow?
Have you heard any other legends for this plant?

Thank you for stopping by!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency