ASEAN Hive Community Challenge #51: What Condiments Do You Have At Home?



It's time to make an entry for ASEAN Hive Community Challenge#51. Joining the community's challenge is something that I look forward to every week. There might be times when I can't participate, but I told myself that I'd do it as long as there is something for me to write about and my schedule allows. This week's topic is "What Condiments Do You Have At Home?".

Took the photo in our kitchen outside the house since our place is too small to fit in a kitchen inside. lol



We don't use a lot of condiments at home, so I took some pouches from the store to somehow restock what we already have. We have some condiment bottles, so we just purchase small pouches to refill them.





First is the soy sauce. Maybe for some Filipinos, they prefer using patis or fish sauce, but I don't really like its taste, so my family and I prefer to use soy sauce instead. We also like this brand called Silver Swan because it tastes milder than the other brands and it doesn't smell strong.

I must say soy sauce is my fave condiment. I even just pour it on rice sometimes mixed with used oil. I can live with just rice and soy sauce. It's not healthy, but I do it at times. haha




Next is vinegar. I personally don't use it as a condiment except when there is lechon or chicharon, but my papa loves vinegar. They also use it when eating something raw like kinilaw. And as you may notice, we also use the same brand as our soy sauce.





In the Philippines, we use banana ketchup instead of tomato ketchup most of the time. I do like tomato ketchup especially when eating some fries or other fried foods, but banana ketchup is just so Filipino. haha

It's sweet and a bit spicy, so I really like it. Same with soy sauce, I use it on my rice instead of dipping some fried foods in it. It's just my personal preference, though.


Aside from these three, we also use mayonnaise or gravy. However, we haven't bought them recently. These are all we have in our kitchen.

Special Participation:






I received this furikake from my Japanese younger sister last time. It's a rice condiment and we still have some left, so allow me to introduce it to you as well.





Furikake is a dry Japanese condiment which we usually sprinkle on top of cooked rice. It usually has some sesame seeds chopped seaweed, salt, sugar, MSG, etc. depending on the flavor.

In the case above, it's an egg furikake, so there are some dried eggs in it as well. Other flavors we got were sake, bonito and salmon. They're also very delicious. Mama and I like it, so next time we're going to purchase other flavors online. :)





And this, my friends, is the end of my post. haha Thanks for reading and see you around! (^^,)/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency