ASEAN Hive Challenge #17 - 🎧 What Music Do You Listen To? 🎵 : MY LIFE'S JOURNEY THROUGH MUSIC <3



It's actually my first time to join such a community challenge by ASEAN HIVE and I'm pretty excited about it because for sure I'd be traveling down memory lane through music. Simply thinking about it is already making me feel nostalgic.

Music has always been a part of my life ever since I was pretty young. I've listened to various types of music, multiple artists and a whole lot of songs. However, I'm going to share here the music or songs which really made an impression on me through the years.

image.png

@simon_noh of UNSPLASH


EARLY DAYS... xDD

When I was in elementary, I have already been into music. I listen to music every day and sing karaoke at home almost every weekend. I guess it's a part of Filipino culture to hangout with friends and family by singing in karaoke.

During those times, I was so into boybands like Backstreet Boys, Westlife, N'Sync, etc. Aside from that, I also enjoyed listening to Britney Spears and M2M. And since I am an anime fan even in my childhood days, I enjoyed listening to the anime's opening and ending songs even though I don't understand the lyrics. lol


VIDEO SOURCE

This song was among my favorites back then. I just hummed the melody or change the lyrics to nananaaaa... haha It's the opening song for Hunter X Hunter. Aside from this, I like Slam Dunk songs. DBZ songs, Yu Yu Hakusho songs, and so on.


VIDEO SOURCE

Out of all the boybands or groups back then, Westlife was my favorite. This song is also one of my faves from them. Heck, I even sang this song to audition for the choir later in high school. hahaha


VIDEO SOURCE

Influenced by my older male cousins, I learned to love Linkin Park. We used to watch MTV back then and sing along various songs. I found joy in rapping because of this. <3


HIGH SCHOOL DAYS

When I was in high school, my choice of music leaned more towards the rock genre. I was into alternative rock both international and Filipino artists. For international artists or bands, I was so into Simple Plan, Secondhand Serenade, RJA, All Time Low, FM Static and so on. As for Filipino bands, I was into Hale, Parokya ni Edgar, Rivermaya, Southborders, Bamboo, Eraserheads, etc, There was also a time when I was crazy about BisRock (Bisaya Rock --- song in our local language here in Cebu) Anyway, that time was the "emo" era. hahahaha I wonder if any of you remember those days or if any of you has been through such phase as well.



VIDEO SOURCE

This song was so comforting for me. Whenever I feel that no one understands me, I just listen to this and try to disappear. Well, I still do at times even until now.


VIDEO SOURCE

This will always be one of my favorite songs. It's by South Borders, a Filipino band. I so love this song. It's very important for me because this song kept me going when I had to transfer schools in the middle of my third year in high school from the countryside to the city. As the song suggests, life goes on. <3


VIDEO SOURCE

This is one of my fave Bisrock songs. It's a love song about someone who is still longing for the person he/she loves. It's about accepting and continuing to love the person even he/she already has someone else because you see them happy with their life now. You know... teenage days are when we start to have love interests and such, so these songs were quite powerful. haha


COLLEGE DAYS

This is the era when I was most attached to music. Music saved me from all the stress and depressing things that has happened in my life. This was also my era of idol groups and J-rock bands. I was so into Japanese music (pop and rock) as well as K-pop. <3


VIDEO SOURCE

Super Junior!!!! I love them... I still do. Although I liked a lot of Kpop groups back then, I must say SuJu is really my favorite. "No Other" is one of my fave songs from them. It's a love song about a person finding someone who makes their life so much better.


VIDEO SOURCE

I love this group so much. They saved me from depression and brightened my life during one of its darkest times. I'm not sure if people can understand, but for sure fangirls like me (regardless of their group) can relate to the happiness these idol groups can bring. I miss 6-nin NEWS, but I'll keep supporting 3-nin NEWS and the members who left through the years.


VIDEO SOURCE

As for J-rock, I fell in love with Hyde-sama's voice. It's so powerful.... I get goosebumps every time I listen to him sing. <3 I listened to a lot of J-rock and even Visual Kei bands, but L'arcenCiel and Hyde-sama, would always stand on top. <3

RECENT DAYS...

Well, I listen to a mixture of the songs and music genre I mentioned above. However, there are some songs I've been playing again and again these days. Ever heard of LSS or Last Song Syndrome? hahaha I've been LSS-ing the following songs recently. <3



VIDEO SOURCE

The melody and the meaning of the song is just so cute. Mosawo is a Japanese singer-songwriter who writes and performs songs from a female point of view. This song, CARAMEL, is one of my favorites. It's about a girl trying to ask a guy if it's okay to fall in love with him. hahaha~cringe, but I love it




VIDEO SOURCE

If you're familiar with TOKYO REVENGERS (Japanese anime), then you must know this song. haha I love this band. They're called Official Higedandism. I love them since I first listened to their song called FIREGROUND which was also used in the anime HINOMARUZUMOU. I was LSS-ing that song years ago as well, and now, this song won't just leave my system. haha


VIDEO SOURCE

I'm not a huge fan of metal rock, but I always like listening to the instrumental part (not much with the screaming). However, I have been LSS-ing this song because of Stranger Things. hahaha One of my fave characters, Eddie, played this song in the series and it was the BEST METAL EVER!!! <3



All in all, I listen to any song no matter the genre or the language as long as my ears find them pleasing. <3



That's it for this post. If you're interested to join, check out the announcement link HERE.

Thanks @asean.hive for this opportunity to share and reminisce my life's journey through music. <3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency