Is Facebook Getting Banned in the Philippines?




Majority of Filipinos use social media, particularly Facebook. In fact, Philippines has the most social media users in 2018, according to Digital Marketing Institute. Facebook is used by many Filipinos to connect with people, share photos/videos, express their thoughts, and generally as a source of entertainment to keep themselves occupied. Some even use this platform for business. And now during this pandemic, Facebook has been very useful to help people cope up to the world.



facebook1903445_1280.jpg
Image source: Pixabay

Everything was going smooth until a few days ago, our president threatened to ban or shutdown the social media after it deleted groups, pages and accounts related to politics and military. I do not know the entire context of the issue although what's clear is that these deleted groups, pages and accounts were deemed malicious by Facebook and the president wasn't happy with it. Some officials assured that Facebook is far from getting banned in the country. Well, that's good news, but we also have an unpredictable president. 😂

I think there will be a huge uproar if things gets worse because Facebook is the most convenient and useful app for most. It will be very sad if Facebook gets banned, honestly. And to be honest, I am not much bothered by it because I don't use the platform often. I just log in on Facebook to watch cat and dog videos, check updates on my favorite bands, just those kinds of stuff. Lol. Anyway, I see this as an opportunity for other platforms to grow such as Hive! Maybe by that time, I can convince people to join Hive, have interest in it, and potentially earn from their posts.

Of course, I still wish for things to turn out good. I hope the president and the people around him could think of better ways of dealing with the issue rather than banning the biggest social networking site in the world. I will kind of miss scrolling to the daily dose of self-bragging, self-glorifying and narcissistic posts on my timeline! Ahahah! Kidding!

God Bless Philippines!❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency