5 Hilariously Confusing English Encounters (ASEAN Hive #Engrish Challenge)




Disclaimer: This post and challenge by the ASEAN Hive Community isn't meant to derogate people who aren't very fluent with the English language. The challenge was made for the purpose of celebrating ESL failure and entertainment, not to promote any forms of racism.



ASEAN Hive Community recently posted a challenge called "#Engrish Challenge" where you have to find failed or funny usage of English words or sentences around you. Take photos or videos of it and share for everyone to see.

ASEAN Hive Community's 🤣 #Engrish Challenge 🙌 Celebrating ESL Failure

As I was reading about the challenge, I had a couple of encounters which flashed in my mind. I guess it's time to share them with you. I leave the best one on the last part so read until the end!

When we hear the word "Engrish", I assume most people would think, "ah, Asians." That's true but also not completely true because not all Asians speak "Engrish". Some just have difficulty pronouncing certain letters due to their native language. On the other hand, there are also Asians who are good to excellent in speaking English. And when it comes to written English, I guess it already depends on how much are they exposed to the language.

For example, in Japan, English language is taught later around middle school. I've watched some interviews on Japanese people before and according to them, they weren't able to apply what they've learned in their English class because they don't need it very much in their daily lives.

Meanwhile, here in the Philippines, English became a gauge of education, intelligence and status in the society (which is wrong) that's why most parents teach and talk to their child in English instead of Filipino or their dialect, sadly. English is taught in preschool until college. The reason why a Filipino with poor grammar, spelling, and pronunciation will most likely get ridiculed by his very fellow Filipinos. It happened to me back in high school when my history teacher scanned through our quiz papers and poked fun with how I used some words. The whole class laughed, of course. Maybe I'm just lucky our teacher didn't mention whose paper it was to save me from further humiliation which might end up in bullying. I didn't do anything about it but he got his karma some months after that. :)

Anyway, I think I've digressed from what this post is supposed to be about. The scope of the challenge doesn't only revolve on Asians, by the way, but also even for other races out there who have encountered some interestingly funny failed usage of the English language. It can be a typographical error like how my friend expressed her most sincere best wishes for our married friend through a Facebook post with the words, "Happy Weeding!", complete with all the heart emojis and our photo. I immediately messaged her privately and told her to correct it and jokingly told her that I don't want us to end up lying dead on the streets. This was the time when the police were very active on hunting drug users in the country where they were given the authority to shoot the person if he/she fights back. Weeds are illegal here in the country.


Let's move to my entries because you're probably bored by now. Lol.






MY 5 "ENGRISH" ENCOUNTERS



During my sixth grade, our class was given the opportunity to experience being a teacher in celebration of Teacher's Day. My group was assigned to teach first graders in the afternoon class and I was assigned to teach Math and Filipino subject.

The only thing I could say about teaching first graders is that they are too stressful to handle because their attention span is too short. However, they were also the sweetest students I've ever met. Despite the chaotic day, we were compensated with sweet letters written by some students. Whether it's breaktime or class hours, they would come in front and hand us letters.

Well, I was the only girl in our group so the kids must be referring to me when they've written this! Based from what the student wrote here, I am just not simply beautiful but rather full of it!



We have a saying here in my country which says , "A child never lies." Hmm.. Lol!

Another letter here says "Your funny and good teachers." Yep, they're the teachers' teachers now! Good job teacher Nikka and Marie!



Cute heart angel, by the way!

And here's one who even tried to draw me with probably my house filled with lots of love (Although I think the house represents the classroom.) I appreciate their drawings a lot but at least she didn't say bootyful!!!



"Ate" means sister.

Misspelled words and grammatical errors are common, understandable, and forgivable when it comes to kids. It's actually cute to see their writings and if it weren't for the lessons we have to teach them, I'd rather talk casually and play with them. There's one kid who hugged me so tight after the class was over. It was one of the best hugs I've received. She even remembered me when she transferred into the school I transferred to during high school.




Now let's go to somewhere a bit recent. Not much errors here actually, but I strongly believe manuals should use complete words and not shorten it just like most of us write on the internet.



IMG_20210506_113927_1.jpg

Anyway, "Congratulation" to me for finally getting myself my dream kalimba seven months ago! This kalimba I bought is from China. They have good Kalimba brands, in case you are looking for a cheap but decent kalimba.



IMG_20210506_114020._1jpg.jpg



I know those above were simple but here's something that would probably leave you dumbfounded.

I bought this cream squeezer few years ago right after I completed my short bread and pastry course. I was having difficulty using piping bags for icing so I went to a Daiso store and luckily found this. It looks easy to use and would save me from wasting piping bags.



cream.jpg

One can easily know how to use this baking tool even without reading the instructions, but you know, it's helpful sometimes to read them to completely know the usage and proper care for it. Although it's more confusing than being helpful sometimes.



Or maybe just don't use it?

I don't know if it was the Japanese or Chinese who made the translation since it's a product of Japan but made in China. Hmm.. maybe Japan? Because the characters being translated are Nihongo.



Next was an accidental encounter when my brother parked our car to buy some medicine on the opposite side of the street. While waiting for him inside the car, I looked around and this photo studio in front of me captured my attention.



P_20170616_094014_1.jpg

I wonder if their staff still haven't noticed it or did they just choose to ignore because who cares anyway.



Photo for two persons, maybe? Lol.



And last but not the least, the Engrish that I loled the most at! This were the instructions from the foot file my mother bought somewhere years ago.

I can feel this is more of a torture than feeling comfort.



Feet stew, anyone?

Back in high school, our Physics teacher told us that the boiling point temperature is 100 degrees Celsius. Imagine soaking your feet in it. Good luck! 😂

Remember to use English words properly to avoid confusion and accidents! But having some common sense is better.

If ever you're wondering, this is again a Chinese product.



There's more "Engrish" stuff here around the house though I couldn't find them all right now so let me just share to you my favorites.

Which among these did you like most? 😂




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency