In Fascinating Insects: This Deadly Praying Mantis

IMG_20210912_005108.jpg

Hello everyone! How was your weekend? We have fair weather today so I assumed that Typhoon Kiko has left the area of responsibility though the two typhoons had left so much disasters in different places. At last, I heard the early morning chirps of the birds that gleefully hopped along my garden and above the branches. You see, our village is like a bird sanctuary with all the huge trees surrounding us!

The dark clouds in the afternoon seemed to indicate a coming rain. At 3: o'clock PM, the deafening sound of the cicadas above the trees begun which meant that it has been a fine day. Have you observed that guys? That's the old farmer's belief! Anyways, I proceeded at the back to inspect the leaves of my strawberries when an insect dropped on my shoulder which startled me, thinking that it was a worm again :) I found out that it was a praying mantis. I called Antonia to bring a plastic tub so I can take a photo of it. Actually, I am afraid of its frontal blow!

IMG_20210911_202145.jpg

See, it has that innocent look.:) But looks can be deceiving because it has 5 pairs of eyes beside that triangular head and it can turn its head up to 180°! When we were small, I used to turn around its back so I can catch it but my hair tend to rise when I saw that the head turned around in full circle! Lol!

IMG_20210911_202107.jpg

I watched it sway slowly as if dancing. I recall that Kung Fu style of the Mantis by Jackie Chan. I guess it's concentrating on how to catch it's prey too?

IMG_20210911_202224.jpg

I tried to capture a closer shot by focusing my cam nearer and it didn't falter a bit but rather reached out it's hand! Research says that it can be formidable because it also feeds on other insects. With the hands clasp as if in prayer, it actually is preparing for a quick grab! Another bizarre characteristic this mantis has is that it kills its partner when mating! Now that's rather absord. Despite this weird cycle of the female mantis, the male population will never cease because it produce multiple eggs in one setting.

This is all for now, thank you for dropping by my page.

Note: My heartfelt thanks to @justinParke/#Asean.hive for the nice write up. It's overwhelming on my part. And of course, to @sgbonus for the info. Thank you as well as my well for the greeters. God bless you more.

Till then,

is7ljAN1-IMG_20200914_055846.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency