Giant Spicy Grilled Squid @ Mak Kimbong restaurant

I don't usually eat squid because I have gout on my right toe, and squid is one of the things that can trigger my gout. Despite having gout, I found myself suddenly wanting to eat squid for lunch yesterday.

After browsing through Tiktok videos, I stumbled across one of a restaurant in Bangi called Mak Kimbong which sold giant grilled squid smothered in a spicy chili paste.

I am not sure why the restaurant is named Mak Kimbong. I am assuming that Mak Kimbong is the restaurant owner's name. Upon arriving, I straight away tried to secure a seat and table. Since it was lunchtime, I need to wait for about 15 minutes before getting one.

Once I have secured a seat and table, I went to the ordering counter and ordered a plate of white rice, one masak lemak rebung (bamboo shoot cooked in coconut gravy), one medium-sized grilled squid, and one iced tea. After putting in my order, I need to wait for a few minutes for the staff to prepare it.

After waiting for around 5 minutes, the staff put all of my orders onto a tray. I then collected the tray and proceed to make a payment for my order at the payment counter. I noticed that the restaurant requires the customer to make a payment before eating.

One payment was made, and I went back to my table and carefully unload my order on the table. The grilled squid was so big that it nearly covered the plate. The price for the squid alone was not cheap. It cost me MYR 45 excluding the other menus that I ordered.

I cut the squid into small pieces and took a taste of it. The grilled squid was so spicy. While I'm usually cautious when it comes to eating spicy food, the urge to try the grilled squid was so strong that I could not resist.

I ended up ordering another cup of iced tea just to mitigate the spiciness that I felt



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency