Eating Buah Salak (Palm Tree Fruit)

Was riding my motorbike when I saw this fruit is sold at a small fruit shop nearby my house. In local tongue, we call this fruit as Buah Salak. It came from a species of palm tree which is common in East Malaysia, and Indonesia. It is also called as Snake Fruit due to its reddish-brown scaly skin.

img_0.7952668216452925.jpg

During my younger time, I dislike this fruit because for me, buah salak tasted funny and bitter. But my late father was really into this fruit, and that confuse me. Now, as I became older, somehow I starting to take a liking to Buah Salak. Whenever the fruit vendor nearby my house have this fruit in stock, I for sure will buy at least the fruit, and today I bought it for RM10 for a kilogram. A bit expensive, but it is OK since I only buy this fruit only when it is in season.

img_0.3671601289226939.jpg

The skin of Buah salak is sharp and prickly. When peeling the fruit, you need to be careful, because the skin can pierce your skin and sometimes stuck in between the fingernail. Trust me, it is painful. Been there and done that, and I don't want to repeat the same experience again.

For me, the most efficient way to peel the skin is by pinching the tip of the fruit. By pinching it, the skin will slough off so it can be pulled and peel away. Typically, buah salak inside consists of three lobes, and usually two will be larger. The seed of buah salak is not edible. But, be aware that eating too much of buah salak will cause constipation. This, I learned by experience 😆

img_0.8932696473659619.jpg

If i were to describe the taste of buah salak, this will be my description: Buah Salak taste sweet, sour pineapple and incredibly juicy. Buah salak flesh is slightly acidic, and can give your tongue a citrus like tingle.

img_0.20657080618305496.jpg

By the time i published this posting, i have finished all of the buah salak that i bought this morning 😁


aDi

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency