An Unplanned Chicken Grill Party

It was around 8 PM when we (my wife, kids and I) reached Musi Village in north Bali where my parents-in-laws live. We have driven for one and a half hour through the forest of west Bali from where we lived in the south Bali. My in-laws were super happy to see us. My unmarried sister-in-law, and my three and twelve-year-old nephews, and a ten-year-old niece from a nearby village were happened to be there as well.

grilling chicken in simple firewood stove.

Out of nowhere, my sister-in-law suggested a chicken BBQ party. It was a bit late to start, I thought. But my wife said, "Why not?" Soon, my father-in-law picked a chicken, and everyone, including my sister-in-law's boyfriend, helped cut it up.

cutting the chicken meat

chicken grilling from a different angle :-)

the 3 year old nephew joined the chinken grilling

While the guys handled the chicken, the ladies – my wife and her two sisters – made a special spicy sauce (sambal) with shallots, chilies, lemongrass, salt, and coconut oil. (Note: Balinese sambal can be really spicy, you know) The guys grilled the chicken on a simple stove, filling the air with a delicious smell.

the ladies were making the sambal or the sauce

Amidst all this, we cracked jokes and laughed a lot. After a while, the chicken was ready, and the sambal was perfect. We gathered around, served rice from a basic rice cooker, and enjoyed our meal.

grill chicken meat and the spicy sambal were ready

To finish the night, we had cold soft drinks with ice. It was a simple, fun celebration. It might not have been fancy, but it was just right. Can't wait for the next unplanned party!

Everybody enjoyed the chicken grill dinner.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency