Blog #131: The Sight of Alegria Heritage Park Before and After the Supertyphoon Odette

Hey Hivers!

On November 19, 2021 that was my first visit in Alegria Heritage Park. As I first sighted this well-known tourist spot, I was impressed by how the Local Government Unit (LGU) maintained it. The whole park was tidy. I was not able to see a piece of garbage scattered within the park's vicinity and the plants inside the park were well-trimmed.

The images below were captured by me during my first visit in Alegria Heritage Park.

Honestly, the Alegria Heritage Park is one of the parks in the southern part of Cebu that I really like. Maybe you would understand why if you have already seen photos below.

20211119_102530.jpg

20211119_102244.jpg

20211119_103241.jpg

20211119_102129.jpg

20211119_103011.jpg

But everything was ruined when the supertyphoon Odette hit Cebu.

On December 16, 2021 the supertyphoon Odette came. No one expected that the wrath of Odette will create a huge damage in Cebu. Many houses were washed out; many trees were uprooted; many roads were broken; and everything was ruined including the heritage park of Alegria. The Alegria town was one of the most affected towns.

After a week, I went back to Alegria because my newly found friend (we've became friends the day after the supertyphoon) asked me if I could accompany her to Alegria because she will be going to take her car back home. She left the car in Alegria when she return back home after the supertyphoon due to many broken roads.

20211227_111638.jpg

My heart bleeds as I saw this depressing sight a week after Odette hit Cebu. Everything in the park was totally ruined.

20211227_122645.jpg

There were no more railings and only few benches were left in the park. Garbages were scattered around and there were only few plants have survived. There were still few trees stood but I am not sure if that could survive. Because the trees look dying. I hope it could survive.

20211227_122713.jpg

Odette has also took off the roof of the church. Look at the new image of the Alegria Church. There were no more roof.

Have you noticed the 2 trucks in front of the church? I was curious because that trucks were owned by the Municipality of Bantayan (located in the northern part of Cebu which was not greatly affected by the typhoon) I asked them why these trucks owned by Bantayan Municipality were in Alegria. They told me that they were sent by their LGU to help the people in Alegria do the cleaning operation.

I was grateful as I have heard those words because it means that the park can quickly recover.

Although it is hard to stand again but since we have each other's back, I know we can quickly recover.

Thank you for reading and see you on my next blog. Cheers!


Watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places.

Roald Dahl

Discord: kellyane#0924


Some photos were edited using Canva

205704246_497302184716947_9074957943064903968_n.jpg

inbound-1236560438.jpg

Namaste! I am fond of reading books, watching korean, american and filipino series/movies and I am also fond of gardening. I love listening to different life stories and I am always captivated with the beauty of nature so travel is my escape when life turns into blue. But hey, how could I forget my photography hobby? It is one of the best, so follow me as I will be featuring my experiences of the stuff that I am passionate with.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency