Porch Life In Steung Kach 🛖 Why Be Inside With Views Like This? ⛰️

PORCH.PNG

Awesome views and a dry-weather house are a perfect combo that has kept us mostly outdoors here on our new land in Steung Kach.

So Many Porches 🛖 So Much Time

1.JPG

     Actually I feel quite rushed to be honest, mostly because we bought this place with mostly borrowed money. It seems every waking moment should be spent on getting this place into shape so we can rent out the cabin on the cliff's edge.

2.JPG

     We do make sure to spend a little bit of time in the water and on the various porches, especially the hammock huts down by the river's edge. There are so many different species of butterflies here, a photographer's dream, but I'll leave that to the expert @sreypov.

Hammock Huts Are Choice 👌

3.JPG

     Eventually I'll be sure to give you all a proper tour of the land, but it's safe to say our favorite spot is the hammock huts. They're not rainproof, and structurally questionable, but we enjoy life on the edge figuratively and literally I guess. Anytime we want to go camping, all we have to do is make a 30-second walk, absolutely unbeatable.

A Truly Wild Forest 🌳

4.JPG

     Of all the places I've been in Cambodia, the locals have more or less tamed nature and eaten all but the smallest species of wild animals out of existence. Here the extreme terrain and landmines have kept this wilderness safe for now, so if there was ever a chance I will have an elephant, sun bear, or tiger sighting, it might very well be here.

Unfiltered Water 🚰

5.JPG

     We pump our water here straight from the river here, and it's quite a process involving a lot of running back and forth, and a lot of meters of old, dry, and brittle hose. I haven't written or said the English word "hose" in about 10 years, still feeling like I misspelled it, but let's move on.

Monkey-B Is Now The Porch Monkey 🐵

6.JPG

     I wish there was a Cambodian tradition of rocking chairs, because this porch life would be perfect for a pair. That's okay, we're quite happy to be here and practically furniture-less just for the clean air and water. Monkey-B loves looking at the ever-changing river and walking the loose unfastened plank.

7.JPG

     I've been a doing a bit of shovel work lately, so I find myself much hungrier than normal, and this makes me too tired to cook and eagerly awaiting whatever porch meal the wife is preparing. As you can see, the porch is unfinished, but that just keeps us alert and on our toes.

8.JPG

It's Cold At Night 🥶

9.JPG

     I have never slept better in my life than with a heavy blanket in a cold room, and Cambodian weather never provided with such an opportunity, and life with aircon was always too expensive for me. I have lived at 3,100 meters in Colorado for many years, and often seen temperatures below -40°C, but even I wish I had a thicker blanket here in Cambodia, hard to believe.

     When we fall asleep here, it's the kind of deep sleep like in a fictional fairytale, and I find myself going to bed hours earlier and waking up hours earlier than we did in Pramaoy. @sreypov even has an opportunity to wear her Ecuador clothing here.

jp.png
CLICK HERE TO JOIN HIVE AND START EARNING CRYPTO LIKE US

Dad
@JustinParke
Mom
@SreyPov
🙏 GIVE THANKS 🙏
Srey-Yuu
@KidSisters
Monkey B
@KidSisters
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
41 Comments
Ecency